We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would choose another hotel over this one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5414 South Bay Road, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Would choose another hotel over this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While staff was friendly and shuttle efficient, I thought the room looked a little dingy and the beds were small and uncomfortable. Parking was convenient, but for the price, I think there are much better places to stay park and fly in Syracuse. No breakfast included or available. Lobby looks messy and unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Recently Retired-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. I am sorry that you found the beds to be uncomfortable, with all mattresses it comes down to personal preference as to what you find comfortable and uncomfortable. Although we do not offer a complimentary breakfast we do have breakfast items available for purchase in our Candlewood Cupboard. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
56
33
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling on winter vacation.

The Good:

-Reasonable price
-Polite and helpful service
-Convenient location - To both I-81 and the NYS Thruway - also lots of restaurants and other retail shops close by.
-Clean pleasant lobby

The Bad:

-Room was a somewhat dated
-Bed was small and uncomfortable
-Sleeper sofa had a thin uncomfortable mattress

Overall it served its purpose very well and I wouldn't hesitate to to stay here again. It is definitely a value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Miusa,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and location.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our bed and the sleeper sofa. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Marissa went totally above and beyond anything her job title holds for responsibilty with helping me and my family getting my mother situated in her room for weeks to come. It's a real good feeling to know she'll be there ready to help in any way she can. A true asset to Candlewood Suites. If she's not promoted to Management duties soon, then somebody in management now, is not doing their job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We chose this location because it was close to the airport and this hotel did not disapoint us. With in a mile from the airport and prompt service made it a great stay. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

However their cleaning staff need some training.

We stayed at the hotel one night and found the facility suffecient and the staff very friendly. The desk staff were very nice and the airport shuttle drivers were very friendly. We were able to leave our car at the hotel for $5.00 a night while we were on vacation in Florida. The hotel is close to the airport and so for those reasons alone I would stay at this hotel again.

However like i mentioned above the cleaning staff need some refresher training.

The bathtub may not have been cleaned for several days. First thing in the am while getting ready to leave for the airport I discovered a ring around the bathtub and many long black hairs still in the bathtub. I'm not a fn of other people's hair especially in the bathtub I am about to use.

The dirt ring arpund the tub was an issue as well.

Other than that I would stay there again. Perhaps this was a one-off issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk staff and location.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from our housekeeping. We will address this points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The people were nice, but the decor was very worn. Our room felt dirty. There were stains on the upholstery and there was a water ring mark from a cup on our side table. I do not recommend this hotel as there are plenty other to choose from that will surely be cleaner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Georgia B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you felt the cleanliness of the hotel was lacking. I apologize for the water mark on your side table in the room as this must have been missed during the inspection of your room. We take all comments good or bad and use them as training tool for the staff. I am glad that you thought the staff was nice and accomidating as that is what we strive for. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I came here to stay over a four day business trip. I am a platinum member of IHG so I stay in quite a few of their brand each year. Keep in mind you aren't staying at the Ritz, but then again, there is nothing wrong with this place. I find it hard to believe the terrible reviews that this hotel received. The hotel is very clean, the staff is very welcoming. I came in a little after midnight and the desk person asked if he could help me get my luggage, if I needed anything, etc. It's an easy straight shot for the most part from the airport (about 1 1/2 miles) and easy access to get on the interstate (81 is less than 1/2 mile away). It could use some modernizing, but again, you aren't at the Ritz. It is very comfortable and when you stay more than one night, that is important. It is very close to several fast food places, several sit down restaurants like Applebees. If you are staying long term, there is a grocery store called I believe Tops which the easiest way to get to is straight through the McDonald's parking lot which is right across from the hotel. I stayed in a suite on the first floor. If you stay, see if you can get a room toward the 30's (129, 229, etc.) the reason is, there is a door right there by the rooms that you can pop straight out to your car instead of running through the lobby. If you are working here such as construction, there is also a side lot where the above rooms look out on to your truck so you can keep an eye on things. The hotel has a very nice laundry room in the hotel with multiple washer and dryers that look pretty new. The workout room isn't the best but it will fit your needs. The suite was fully stocked with plates, etc. and enough pans to survive with. All were new and clean. Furniture was also clean as was the bathroom. Adequate number of towels, etc. Bed wasn't the best but if you work all day, it is comfortable enough that you won't notice it. Plenty of closet space if you are traveling with a family. My room had a pull out couch and separate bedroom. There is also a small dining like table in the room and a nice workstation. If you are staying long term in this area, I would stay here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: As indicated, rooms like 129, 229, etc., give easy access to the outside by a side door, are just do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Address: 5414 South Bay Road, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. We are the closest hotel to the airport. This quiet gorgeous hotel is not only neighboring Hancock International Airport (SYR), but also offers easy access to I-81 and I-90, which gives you convenient access to all of Syracuse including Syracuse University, The Carrier Dome, The New York State Fairgrounds, Carousel Center-DestiNY USA, The OnCenter, and much more.Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport offers 124 spacious suites with amenities including full kitchens, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. The Candlewood Suites hotel features a large and well equipped fitness center, free guest laundry, as well as the Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport also gives you a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as access to our complimentary Airport Shuttle providing transportation to the airport or any of the immediate area restaurants. Pets are welcome with a fee.Current vaccination record must be shown, and pet policy must be signed at check-in. Typically room cleaning once checked in, is provided once every 7 days. Visit with our friendly Guest Service Representatives for information on Syracuse anytime as our Front Desk is open 24 hours day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport Hotel Syracuse
Candlewood Suites North Syracuse
Candlewood North Syracuse
North Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.