We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service and a good value!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Syracuse to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6614 N Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
weston, ma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service and a good value!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I've stayed at Red Roof Inns before, and the Syracuse Red Roof was perfectly adequate for my needs (travelling overnight with my dog). There was some construction work going on the roof, and when I expressed concern about the noise, I was told that they don't start until after 9 am and stop by 5 pm. I agree with the other reviewers about the idling truck noise -- this hotel is located on a heavily travelled road with many truck depots nearby, so I requested a room on the quiet side of the road . The bathroom and sink areas were very clean and the room fairly decent. However, they have not upgraded their mattresses, and they were saggy (I stayed in a non-smoking Queen double right next to reception). One complaint: I unexpectadly found two large winged insects (eek!) in the newspapers I was reading in the room, and when I complained, the front desk person was extremely apologetic and asked how she could rectify the situation. I said they could just charge me for the room and they could take care of the room tax which they did without question.
Their customer service is exemplary -- A+++ all around!

  • Liked — It was very convenient to the dog show event I was attending.
  • Disliked — The construction work going on and finding a few bugs in the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    130
    62
    10
    14
See reviews for
66
86
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

A very pleasant experience. Housekeeping was 100% as was the Front Desk staff. Everyone was friendly and courteous. I made my reservations directly with the hotel and they were very professional and when I arrived everything was in order -- no screw-ups. It is a very good place to stay as a stop over on a trip or for a few days visit in Syracuse. It is by no means a luxurious hotel, but it is clean and well kept. I was VERY happy with the condition of my room and you can't beat it for the money in this city. I highly recommend this place, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, SPOTLESSLY clean room. Everything worked.
  • Disliked — Near noisy traffic.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn on a trip from Boston to Cleveland.

We checked in after midnight on a weeknight and had no problems with late arrival, although we did call to tell them ahead of time that we would be arriving very late. We were on the second floor, on the same side as the front desk. I had asked for a room on the quiet side of the hotel, and I think we got it, but either way, with the fan going, the noise wasn't bad at all. There is some kind of a large truck parking lot/rest stop right on one side of the property and that made some noise, but, again, with the fan going, it wasn't bad. It certainly did not keep us awake.

Although a nonsmoking room, it did have a smoky kind of smell, but, again, nothing too bad.

The staff were very friendly, and the room was clean. Nothing fancy but worked for a stopover. (The hotel is in a pretty industrial section (Carrier circle) and all the rooms enter from the outside).

We would stop here again on a road trip. It is really close to the highway, and the price just can't be beat. I don't think I'd choose this hotel for an extended stay or vacation.

We ate at the Denny's across the street the following morning and the waitstaff were friendly. There is also a Dunkin Donuts right nearby, so there are plenty of breakfast options (the hotel doesn't offer any).

  • Liked — excellent price, close to highway, clean
  • Disliked — views, close to trucking centers
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Beware the noise if you stay on the north side of the hotel. It's right beside the interstate, plus there are a couple other streets that run immediately alongside. We had the AC fan going, plus the bathroom fan, and we still heard the trucks going by. Overall the stay was pleasant, anyway, but if you need a super-quiet room, either request a south room or pick another hotel. We tried the "all-inclusive" thing, to see what it was like, with king bed, microwave & fridge, plus free wireless internet, and while we didn't get our extra $10 worth, if we stayed for more than one night, it would have been worth it.

  • Liked — right off the I-90
  • Disliked — too close to the I-90
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Roof Inn .The rooms were spacious,clean,and the price was excellent-a very good value. We especially liked all the staff at the desk,they couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. We asked for good restaurants,how to get to different locations and they were great at answering all our questions. We were originally booked for 1 night stay but decided to stay an extra night and got an upgraded room for only a few dollars more and it was a nicer room with a bit more space,a fridge, and a microwave.We would definately stay at this Inn again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

Stayed here for 7 nights from 12-21-07 to 12-28-07. Normally we stay at four or five star resorts but due to budget concerns this trip we opted to stay here based upon reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to report that, although a very basic hotel, it was extremely clean as well as recently updated. We chose the business king room which came with a full sized separate workstation, king bed, microwave, small fridge, and separate dressing/make-up/sink area apart from the bathroom. The colors were invigorating with a royal blue rug with matching blue and red spread and drapes. The bed was fairly comfortable; a little too soft for me. Towels and bedspread were made of cheap material however. The dressing area had a faux granite counter and was very well lit. The walls were freshly painted and they even decorated a bit with pleasant modern pictures and off-setting burnt red walls, as well as oak laminate in the bathroom. The tub had a bow shower rod which was wonderful since I hate curtains that cling. The few complaints I had were that the shower curtain did spell funky and they promptly replaced. There was some noise from the trucks but it didn't bother me; simply turn on the fan or air and it blocks it out. The Staff was very courteous and efficient, maid service excellent. For the price, highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — Cheap towels
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

A fine motel for a stopover on our trip. Called ahead to confirm late arrival and had no trouble upon 10 p.m. arrival.
Room was clean, not a spacious room but it got the job done. Admittedly didn't spend much time here, but it seemed to be OK. Good value for a weekend ($85 total) during the summer. Would consider staying here again.

  • Liked — location near interstate
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Address: 6614 N Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Syracuse 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syracuse is the commercial and cultural hub of central New York State, and Red Roof Syracuse is convenient to so many Syracuse attractions! LeMoyne College, Hancock International Airport, and SUNY Health Sciences are within 10 minutes; the Amtrak Station and Carousel Center are 10 miles from the hotel, and Rosamond Gifford Zoo, Syracuse University, and the Carrier Dome are all within 15 miles. Red Roof Syracuse is within minutes of a shopping mall and many restaurants. The friendly staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. Red Roof Syracuse is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV.. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.