We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Syracuse to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6614 N Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friend and I went to Syracuse for a long weekend, and stayed here on the recommendation of a few different sites. The motel was exactly what we needed: a comfortable, clean room with good air conditioning and a great location. Our only complaint was that our room was not serviced by housekeeping on the 2nd day of our visit. Not really a big deal to us. Staff was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that we were able to assist during your weekend getaway. We do hope that you will visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    136
    65
    10
    15
See reviews for
72
89
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The room was clean. Hotel staff was friendly.we stayed in the king room.had mini fridge and microwave. Bed was comfy. Across the street from dennys that was amazing.. But other then dennys and another little restaurant much else around. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Red Roof Inn, in Syracuse, NY. We serve many guests on a weekly basis, and it is always nice to hear when we have met or exceeded someone's expectations. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our dog and it was nice. Room was clean, bathroom was fine, and the staff was friendly. Not many places allow pets but we were lucky we found this hotel. Plenty of grass for our guy to go and it was very quiet. Can't be beat for the price. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are pleased to know that you and your pet had pleasant stay with us. All Red Roof Inns gladly accept pets during your stay, and we really appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We do hope that you will choose us for your next stay in the Syracuse area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want special soaps in the shower and all sorts of amenities then probably you won't like this place. But if, like my family, you want a place to overnight that is inexpensive, but still clean tidy, and feeling like it has all been recently scrubbed, then this is your spot. Red Roof delivers value accommodations for a family with clean and fresh sheets, laminate floors (so they don't have that smell that old carpet does) and quick and efficient service. The staff are friendly, and it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Ground floors are more convenient (for loading and unloading) but third floor is more quiet and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
At Red Roof Inns, we strive to provide our guests with clean and comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. Therefore, I am pleased to know that we succeeded during your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with my staff, and we do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria va
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The motel is inexpensive but not much more. There was no breakfast but there was coffee in the morning but that's it. It is next to Thruway and road noise could be a problem. It was convenient to Erie Blvd for fast food and restaurants and for access to the NY Thruway. The room was comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do not offer all the frills of the full service hotels, however this allows us to keep our prices down for our economy minded travelers. We hope that you will give us another chance to meet your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This property was definitely in there with the good reviews it's been given. I usually stay in business-class hotels and while I'm not saying this is in that league, it was at the very top of its niche of family-oriented motels.

The room was clean - even the air conditioner filters, which I always have to check on account of allergies. The room did NOT smell of smoke. Two rooms down, a man was smoking outside on the balcony (yes, exterior entrance to the room, not interior hallways), but the smell didn't carry very far even in the wind. We had a King Superior room, and it was quite spacious. The internet connection was good - not as speedy as at my workplace, but then it can't compete with a nosiness-caliber T1-line. At any rate, I had no trouble accessing the items I needed online quickly and with no impatience.

The room was quiet, partly because we had "white noise" going on in the form of the AC and my portable air purifier. If you are easily disturbed by traffic noise, ask for an ODD-numbered room: they're on the side of the building away from the interstate, which is only about a quarter mile away.

Overall, I was very happy with this motel and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Syracuse. Compared to other Red Roof Inns - even another we stayed at during the same trip - this one is at the very top of the heap.

To the management: whatever you're doing to maintain a nice and clean establishment with staff who take the quality of their work seriously (hard to find in this business), KEEP IT UP.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms are on the side of the building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Many times, guests only give feedback when they experience an issue during there stay. So, it is refreshing to recieve positive feedback that we can share with our staff. It lets them know that their hard work is appreciated. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clean room, clean bed - was fine for one night. I found the front desk clerk to be very friendly and courteous but somewhat slow with the cash I paid for the room with. I was surprised I didn't receive a receipt for my cash payment ....leads me to wonder why? I was disappointed that no corporate or senior rate was available, other hotels within the same rate range offer those discounts, but I was tired and the hotel had vacancy so I stayed and it was fine. The mattress is a bit stiff, but not terrible. Having a fridge, coffee maker and fixings for tea or coffee in the room was a nice touch! Sure beats Motel 6

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you were happy with your accomodations. As for the discounts, we do normally offer them, however they are closed during special events in the area. So, that may have been why they were not available during your recent stay with us. Also, we do give a full reciept at the time of check out with us for your record keeping. If you have any further questions, please feel free to give us a call. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Address: 6614 N Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Syracuse 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syracuse is the commercial and cultural hub of central New York State, and Red Roof Syracuse is convenient to so many Syracuse attractions! LeMoyne College, Hancock International Airport, and SUNY Health Sciences are within 10 minutes; the Amtrak Station and Carousel Center are 10 miles from the hotel, and Rosamond Gifford Zoo, Syracuse University, and the Carrier Dome are all within 15 miles. Red Roof Syracuse is within minutes of a shopping mall and many restaurants. The friendly staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. Red Roof Syracuse is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV.. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.