We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & cozy...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jefferson Clinton Hotel to your Saves list
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adams, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quaint & cozy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We went to the Jefferson Clinton Hotel for one night to "just get away" not far from home. We had a quaint, cozy room that was immaculate as was the complete hotel. The complimentary breakfast was great. They had a buffet or you could have the chef make you whatever kind of omlette you wanted. We will definitely come back to this place. The best thing was that it was located down town in Armory Square so we walked to every place we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear VonAdams:
Thank you for being our recent guest and thank you for posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    88
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
97
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I loved everything about this hotel. It's a beautiful restored hotel with a perfect location. We walked everywhere easily. They have an honor bar in the lobby. They have the nicest staff ever--always cheerful, helpful, funny, great in every way. Free internet. Breakfast is included and it's actually fresh and delicious with omelettes made to order. But the beds are awful. I mean truly awful. Not only too soft--I could sleep on too soft. These are lumpy and so worn out that my husband and I kept rolling into the pit in the middle. We didn't sleep all night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear AnnMarieHood:

Thank you for both taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and also taking the time to speak with us directly. We apologize about the condition of the bed in your room and hope that you were pleased with how this matter was addressed. Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review, contacting us directly, and allowing us the opportunity to make things right with you. We truly appreciate you being our guest and value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011 via mobile

From wonderful Stephanie at the front desk to Jamie who took our reservation to the awesome housekeeping staff....our stay here was absolutely the best anywhere! We've stayed in hotels around the world and this by far is definitely a best kept secret in Syracuse. Convieniently located where all the Cuse has to offer...the rooms were beyond anything we expected given the age of the hotel. Don't let that fool ya...it has more to offer than any chain has to offer (other than I missed a bar/lounge) BUT they offer wine (local Glenora Seneca Lake!) and a nice choice of snacks in the room. Listen....STAY HERE....you will not be disappointed. Thank you JeffersonClinton!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Potterpeople:
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about us and give us such a good recommendation to others who are thinking about staying with us. We appreciated having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Warmest regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Great staff and a great hotel. The breakfast was superb with a Chef both cooking Omletts and pushing folks out of the snow. This is my 5th or 6th time at the Clinton and its consistently great.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Cherrygrower:
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor. We are both grateful and honored that you continue to return to the Jefferson Clinton Hotel as much as you do. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton for the second time the week of Thanksgiving for 5 nights. The Hotel always exceeded our greatest expectations. I must say they have the friendliest staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at. We love the free valet parking. HD cable with all the channels, two HD sets in our room and latest DVD to borrow for free. They even gave us free popcorn with our free movie.
The room was a one bedroom suite with a very comfortable bed. We had a great bathroom with a double headed shower which my wife loved. The room was also very clean. They have the best free Breakfast of any hotel I ever stayed at. They even had made to order omelets prepared by their chef. They always had a wide selection of coffee tea available for free in the lobby.
If you are looking for a great hotel that truly pays attention to detail this hotel is a great choice. We truly felt at home during the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Lustigwolf:
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us and write such a nice review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate having you as our guest again and are pleased you enjoy staying with us so much. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

great staff
great amenities
great night sleep
great breakfast
best hotel in upstate ny

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are truly grateful to have had you as a guest and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel with us and others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Our stay at the Jefferson Clinton was perfect. This hotel is within walking distance to a great variety of restaurants from bar food to up-scale steakhouses. The room and bathroom were very clean and the beds were fluffy and dreamy. The staff was sooo helpful. They gave us walking directions to everywhere we wanted to go. Complimentary breakfast was more than a "continental" type. They had a full buffet and a fantastic "made to order" omelet station. The Jefferson Clinton is only a 5 minute walk to the OnCenter Arena to see AHL Syracuse Crunch hockey too. The only thing that left me wondering was, our junior suite had a full size frig, micro wave, sink, two burner stove and a dishwasher, yet no table or chairs. Free parking too. Loved the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Thank you for such nice comments and caring enough to write such a thorough review. We are truly grateful to have had you as a guest and appreciate you taking the time to post such a kind words on TripAdvisor. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. Located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, plasma televisions with DVD players and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. Complimentary valet parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Clinton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.