We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jefferson Clinton Hotel to your Saves list
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Charming and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised with the cool boutique feel of our hotel. Great location in a funky neighborhood filled with good restaurants and shopping. We took advantage of the complimentary valet parking, used the fitness center (with headphones and tvs at each of the exercise stations) and enjoyed the breakfast - especially the made to order omelet station. The rooms were large and comfortable, with a full kitchen. The lobby was a comfortable spot for hanging out, reading and working on computer thanks to wireless connection. The honor bar at cocktail hour was a nice surprise.
Only comment is they should add more chairs (there was only 1 in our room) and towel hooks (also only 1 in our bathroom).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. In addition, thank you for sharing your input about the improvements that can be made to make things better at our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and will implement your suggestions in our continuous improvement of the Jefferson Clinton Hotel.
Best regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    88
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
97
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, I picked the Jefferson Clinton as the hotel for five colleagues and myself to stay at on a 3-day business trip to Syracuse. We couldn't have been happier with this choice. The location in Armory Square is perfect, and this historic gem of a hotel has been completely modernized inside. We had reserved junior suites but were all upgraded to executive suites. Mine was on the 10th floor, with a panoramic view of Armory Square. Everything was sparkling clean and comfortable; the TVs had a huge number of channels; the free wi-fi was fast and reliable; there was even a full kitchen. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with lots of healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit salad, as well as indulgences like an omelet station. Free coffee and tea, fresh apples, and newspapers are available in the lobby round the clock. Nice business center in the lobby and exercise room in the basement. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. This is a hotel that really takes hospitality seriously. If I ever have occasion to travel to Syracuse again, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear TravelBug61:
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor. We are truly grateful for having you and your colleagues as our guest and very appreciate of your kind comments. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Syracuse.
Best regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had a wonderful 2-week stay and apart from the things you WOULD expect from any good hotel, the extras made this a home from home!
You get your own allocated parking space - wonderful for a hotel that is right in the city centre! There is a laundry room with free supply of soap and softener sheets; the list of room 'freebies' is long so if you have need of more than the soaps/shampoo/conditioner/shower gel etc, find what you need and just ask for it.
The staff here are so obviously customer-orientated but genuinely friendly, we never got the impression that 'have a nice day' was a coined phrase or obligatory statement. It was easy to get to know the people and feel a part of the 'hotel family'.

The rooms are gorgeous and so spacious. They are sensibly laid out so that your living room TV is against the neighbour's living room TV so that you don't feel invasive of others' need to sleep. The bed is huge and comfortable with as many pillows as you like. We were never disturbed by hotel noise either from guests or staff, in fact the only noise was from city traffic which gave you a clue to the time! We noticed that Syracuse traffic all but disappears from midnight until 6.30am (except for Saturday night).

What else can I add? Only that I'm writing this review from the free computer/internet supply while waiting for our time to go (and for hubby to have his second breakfast!) Would I recommend it to anyone? Too right - and we're coming back for the Christmas period without the need to try anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear KimClark59:
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you when you return to Syracuse. I am sure the entire staff will enjoy reading your review as much as I did.
Kind regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detailed
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Surprisingly nice. Was a little skeptical given there are no 4 star hotels in all of Syracuse but this was excellent. Was there for business but had my wife and 1 year old along to attend the fair as well. Great location, got an upgraded room upon arrival. Very nice neighborhood although we were there on a Sunday nite and the downtown appears to shut down on Sunday evening except for a few places so keep that it mind if you are looking to head out and be social. More expensive that the other places but worth the extra dough. Thanks again to Corinne and staff who took care of us including changing our room when we felt there was a slight odor in it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Sergal79:
Thank you for selecting the Jefferson Clinton Hotel on your recent visit to Syracuse and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments are appreciated and I am sure the staff will enjoy reading them as much as I did. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was very nice for a one-night stopover and would've been perfect had it not been for the bloody air conditioner. It was WAAAYYYY too loud, cutting in and out all night. This made for a less than restful stay and I will not stay here again, even though I really liked everything else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear SaturnGirlWisconsin:
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize about the problems with the noise from the air conditioner in your room. If you would be so kind as to email me at hotelstuff101@gmail.com to let me know which of our suites you stayed in it would be greatly appreciated. This will help us to prevent future occurrences with other guests by enabling us to quickly remedy the problem. I know how frustrating it can be when you cannot get a good nights sleep in a hotel and certainly do not want to see this happen again. Again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you and being able to fix the problem. In addition, I am certain there is something that we can do to help compensate you and change your mind about staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I LOVED this hotel & miss it already!! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else the next time I visit Syracuse. I would absolutely LIVE there if I could.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we would love to have you come live with us. Thank you again.

Best regards,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The staff at the Jefferson Clinton is proud that their hotel is listed on the register of Historic Hotels. They wear pins that says this, and each room contains a book of all of the historic hotels on the list. The down side to this is, there are a lot of antiquated features of the hotel that date back to it's older design - one small elevator, slightly uneven floors, a very long stairway that encircles the elevator (making for a long walk downstairs). If you like this antique charm, you'll love the Jefferson Clinton. For me, it was a bit of a turnoff.

The staff, however, is fantastic. I'm not much of a luxury traveler, but the staff at this hotel sure made me feel like I was. I've never seen a staff at any hotel or any other place of business work so hard to keep their customers happy.

As for location, I take points away for it being in Syracuse, but it's a decent location. Around the corner is a nice block of bars and restaurants, and it's a very short walk from the famous Dinosaur Barbecue. I wouldn't stray too far from either of these locations, however.

The free breakfast was pretty expansive. They always had 3 to 5 hot entrees, plus the normal muffins, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, tea, etc. And the omelet chef was a great plus too.

One last thing to note - their check-in time is 5pm and their check-out time is 2pm. The late check-in is very strange, and a few guests checking in before us were visibly agitated about this (I believe they had been waiting for a while until a room was ready for them, which you don't expect to have to do at 3:30 in the afternoon). The plus side was, on our last day, we grabbed a free movie from their DVD collection, a free microwave popcorn that they provide, and relaxed in the hotel until 2:00 watching a movie. It was a nice way to end the trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstuff101, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments about our hotel. Thank you also for posting a picture and your kind note with it.
Sincerely,
Steve Busch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. Located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, plasma televisions with DVD players and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. Complimentary valet parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Clinton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.