We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retro hotel in Syracuse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jefferson Clinton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Blues and BBQ Package
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Syracuse
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely retro hotel in Syracuse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton in Syracuse over the new year on the way to and from New York City. The hotel is easy to find and not far off the highway which makes it an ideal overnight stop if you are road tripping (its also pretty close to Dinosaur BBQ which is a bonus).

The check in and check out process was quick and easy. The staff were friendly and efficient and overall the service was excellent.

The hotel itself is pretty retro and has a lot of funky 50's style fixtures. All of the rooms have been renovated and whilst they have a retro feel they have all the modern features. The beds were large and very comfortable. The range of cable channels, the free wifi and the big TVs were all nice touches. The bathrooms were spacious and clean but the baths and showers seemed to be showing their age a little bit. The only minor issues we had were that the heating took a little while to figure out and fire up and the rooms were a little dark at night.

We utilised the upgrade offer through the booking website and on check in were offered anther upgrade to an even better room for the same price. Breakfast was included in our room rate which represented excellent value for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Greg M - We appreciate you being our guest and are grateful for the kind comments in the review. I pleased that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again. Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    72
    4
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
82
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Jefferson Clinton over the hoildays to attend a family function. Many members of the family stayed there. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They made us all feel very comfortable. The breakfast bar was clean and fully stocked every morning. My room was clean, and comfortable, the bathroom very large and clean. I loved the style of the old hotel. My ONLY complaint is that there is only ONE elevator. It is used by staff and guests alike making it sometimes a long wait to get up or down. I suggest they retrofit in another for staff use. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to friends - but stay on lower floors!

Room Tip: Right in Armory Square - great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MASwamp,

Thank you very much for choosing The Jefferson Clinton Hotel for your visit to Syracuse, NY. We appreciate your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to read your comments regarding our staff, breakfast and guestrooms! We too would love a 2nd elevator but due to the historic nature of our building it's just not possible.
We do hope you'll visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel. The staff was super friendly, they even ordered us pizza after a late night out. The rooms were clean, spacious.

The absolute best part of this hotel is the location. It's right in armory square which has a ton of great food and drink locations. You can have a night out on the town and walk back in just a few minutes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear MBregar - Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice time in visiting all the great attractions in Armory Square. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Respectfully,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is solid and quiet, but not stodgy. The staff is very friendly without being at all overbearing, and the management seems to have thought through what people today really want in a hotel and don't need. The price is moderate---not really cheap, but not too high. The breakfast is excellent, and there are a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Michael A - Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about your recent visit with us. We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We has such a wonderful stay at the Jefferson Clinton hotel. We arrived and there where scones and tea being served. They parked the car for us and we checked in in a matter of minutes. The room was very clean and quiet. It had a beautiful bathroom and nice linens, too. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the chef cooked whatever you wanted and served you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Kittyfink - Thank you for being our guest and spending your birthday with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed the tea time along with the rest of your stay. We hope that we have the chance to serve you again in the near future. Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in downtown Syracuse and close to everything. The hotel price was reasonable in comparison to other hotels of the same quality.

We stayed here for my husband's 30th birthday celebration 12/15/2012 with several friends. The hotel is tastefully decorated and very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We also had experiences with the housekeeping/maintenance and wait staff(during the complimentary breakfast) and they were all prompt, courteous and professional.

I only have two complaints and the first one is not something the hotel can actually manage.
The noise level is quite high. Understand that you are in downtown Syracuse near all of the hotspots so there were a lot of drunk/loud people walking in the streets - for us this wasn't a problem because we were those people lol.

My second complaint was with the shower in the Euro Room. The shower itself was amazing. The evening we were there we used the shower and it was fantastic with the rain shower head and the extra shower heads - I didn't want to get out. The next morning however, we experienced hot and then ice cold water. About every 1-2 minutes the water would get ice cold for approximately 10 seconds and then warm back up - it was slightly annoying. We also had an issue with our toilet backing up but the maintenance staff came up immediately and fixed this. The front desk staff was great and provided us with a 25% discount on our room which was very reasonable in my opinion.

The beds are very comfortable!

I feel that the staff was extremely courteous and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and fixed our issues promplty. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Stephanie M,

Thank you so much for being our guest and providing a review. Our staff will be so happy to read your review, they truly enjoy providing great service to our guests. We are looking into that Euro Shower problem and hope to have it resolved soon!.
Happy Birthday to your husband- 30 is fantastic!

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm a business traveler who routinely stays at Hilton or Marriott. I decided to give this hotel a try. I'm so glad I did! It was a nice, cozy boutique hotel. The staff was exceptional. I loved the bed. It was plush and gave me the best sleep in a long time! I had a junior suite room, which included a kitchenette. They have complimentary WiFi, hot breakfast and free parking (valet or self parking). The next time I'm in Syracuse, I would definitely book another room here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear LadyTraveler40,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed the junior suite! We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton
Address: 416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. Located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, plasma televisions with DVD players and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. Complimentary valet parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Clinton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.