We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Clean Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jefferson Clinton Hotel to your Saves list
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Staff, Clean Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The staff at the Jefferson Clinton was extremely helpful - especially Stephine. Close to all the action in downtown syracuse. The breakfast in the morning is very good for a comp breakfast. They have very good attention to detail and would def. stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Donny J

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Syracuse and for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service so they will be thrilled to read your kind words. We hope you’ll visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    88
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
97
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to Syracuse for a wedding and was advised to stay at this hotel by the bridal couple.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, facilities were amazing.
We had an executive suite, which was a good size room, and used the kitchenette everyday. One of our favorite things was breakfast and the personalised omelette order. Good start to the day.
I also used the DVD hire service which was great as I caught up on some movie watching at night while the kids were sleeping.
Best of all was when I realised I left something behind, my daughters favorite pillow, I called and they organised to send it to me ASAP.
Thanks to all the staff at the Jefferson. Great stay in Syracuse

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear LisMaletta,

Thank you for being our guest and leaving such a kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities and that we were able to return that pillow.

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited Syracuse overnight and we're thrilled to find this gem. Yes, it is one of the more expensive hotels in town but the location, service and extras make it worth the price. If you can find a decent price on the web, jump on it. This hotel is the same as any other they just offer you more - better service, better location, better amenities, more extras.

When we checked in, the air conditioning in our room wasn't working so they promptly changed us. The two suites we saw were large and comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent. No powdered eggs here. We also appreciated the free DVD library and complimentary popcorn. Those two things alone, coupled with separate bedroom suites make this hotel ideal for families.

The additional security measures to prevent non-guests from accessing the elevator was appreciated too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Tim W,

Thank you for being a guest with us and for your review on TripAdvisor! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you were able to check out some of the surrounding area of Armory Square, including the MoST and the Creek Walk - both family friendly activities to do while in Downtown.

Thank you again for staying with us! I hope to have you as a guest again soon!

Best Wishes,
Corrin Nicholas
Controller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went to Syracuse last week and enjoyed every bit of this historic hotel. First, building's architecture is great and lobby is quaint and comfortable. Breakfast is served and omelets are the best I have ever had. Close to several nice bars, coffee shops and restaurants in downtown Syracuse. Not a great area but certainly fine and service is exceptional.
Nice shower and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Wrote about the hotel on social media and got room upgrade to suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Mattgut21,

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us recently! I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your time with us. Did you happen to notice our uniquely built outer wall? When you look at it just right it appears to disappear - much like a stage prop for a movie! There is also a very detailed historic walk through Syracuse that we have available at the front desk. The next time you stay please make sure to ask for a copy and check out the architecture of the surrounding area.

Best Wishes,
Corrin Nicholas
Controller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

First time in downtown Syracuse and loved the atmosphere of the hotel and surrounding area. Very warm staff who couldn't do enough to make sure your stay was enjoyable. We met one of the hotel's owners in the lobby who was interested in where we were from, had we stayed in Syracuse before and if we had where. He wanted to make sure his hotel was at the forefront in regards to service etc. hence, the questions. The amenities were well thought out as to what residents of the hotel could possibly want while staying there. When asked about the surrounding restaurants, they produced a binder book full of actual menus.

The car park has room for approx. 20 vehicles so it fills up fast. When I asked the front desk where I could park they said no problem, they had complimentary valet service and would look after my vehicle for me which they did. The next moring i gave my claim slip and the vehicle was at the front of the hotel in 5 minutes.

We arrived on a Wednesday evening just in time for the hotel's happy hour which consisted of red and white wine, beer and hot food offerings in the comfy hotel foyer.

In the morning there is a great hot buffet style breakfast in the lobby, all of which is included in the price of the room.

Our room was a tad small compared to other hotels we have stayed in but the ambiance and classic look of the room made up for that. We were on the 7th floor and did not hear any road noise or noise from the corridors. Quite a beautiful hotel I must say.

Would recommend this hotel anytime and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear frankie1Ottawa: It was a pleasure to meet and visit with you recently at the Jefferson Clinton Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and sharing such kind words about our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you as a guest. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again. Warmest regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here for our tenth anniversary and the hotel was impressive. we found the staff to be friendly. (ESp Jason ) the only complaint I had was that our room had two full beds instead of one queen bed.besides that the hotel was top notch

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed one night in a queen suite, having received an upgrade for Tweeting our impending stay. Found parking in the side lot easily enough, and had a swift if not super-warm check in. Our room was on a higher floor, which meant very little street noise to contend with, but longer elevator waits (older building so though it has 11 or so floors, it only has one elevator!).

Suite is pretty tight for living space, as the kitchenette is expansive. If one was staying multiple days, that would be handy, but for a simple overnight, likely better to just stick to a normal room. We had a small desk and big desk chair, but no other seating available. The bathroom was enormous and well-appointed, and the signature rubber ducky was a welcome chuckle. Noise from hallway was minimal but apparent. no noise through walls from adjoining room, or floor above. Great bed linens and towels!

The hotel makes available gaming systems, card games, and free selections of DVDs and popcorn for guests, and we loved it (great movie selection!). Also, the fitness centre is fairly good, with multiple machines, weights, Nautilus machines, and fresh earbuds for every user.

The included breakfast buffet was civilized, convenient, and tasty. The omelette station is a great feature, and having both healthy and not-so-healthy choices makes for a great spread. Some fresh fruit would be a nice addition, as would some non-artificially sweetened yogurts, but these are the kind of minor complaints you can make when you have nothing else to complain about!

Our only fault of the stay was a broken bed, which we didn't notice until we looked under it the next morning to figure out why our sleep was so lousy. The hotel credited us part of our stay to make up for it, though, and were quickly responding to fix the problem, so they can't be faulted at all. Checking out was swift and easy, and much warmer than check in.

Overall, a great option in the somewhat limited Syracuse core. The history of the property is great, and the services and additional features added by management just make it better! We will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you're worried about downtown Syracuse night-life and related noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 South Clinton Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. Located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, plasma televisions with DVD players and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. Complimentary valet parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Clinton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.