We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our magnificent visit to DESTINY USA, Syracuse NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny USA

Destiny USA
9090 Destiny USA Drive, Syracuse, NY 13290 (Formerly Carousel Center)
315 466 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Syracuse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Destiny USA is a 2.4 million square foot tourist destination in Syracuse, NY that includes a strong mix of luxury outlet tenants, restaurants and entertainment. New brands are continuing to open to create a unique and dynamic consumer shopping experience. A stunning three-story glass atrium provides perfect weather year round. Oxford Economics has projected an annual visitation rate of over 29 million visitors from throughout the U.S. and Canada. Destiny USA is expected to be the second most visited shopping center in the country, according to Travel and Leisure magazine. It is the largest LEED Gold certified retail commercial building in the world.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our magnificent visit to DESTINY USA, Syracuse NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent 3 days in Syracuse enjoying this wonderful city, loads of great restaurants, a nice stay at the Best Western Hotel, Carrier Circle, close to our intended destination. During the three days, we managed to visit 2 floors of the four available, that's how vast this place is. It's a great place to window shop, as well as indulge in magnificent bargains. The centre has a conglomeration of Factory Outlets, high end & affordable shops as well as Dept stores. There are also many attractions, restaurants, games, & great rest areas where people watching is a work of art.
We also enjoyed a magnificent meal at the SCOTCH & SIRLOIN, one of the better restaurants in Syracuse, we also enjoyed very pleasant meals at Ruby Tuesday's & Red Lobster. The city is a haven of shopping Centres, Big Box Stores, & a multitude of attractions, places to visit & things to do.
It's definitely an enjoyable must for a mini vacation away from home!! We will definitely return to continue our adventure in this Great City!
Helen L

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    131
    34
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of fun! Bring closed toed shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went here on a Sunday. The mall closes at 6, so if you want to do shopping, do that first (and find a place for your bags) before you do some of the attractions on the third level. Also, we parked outside of JC Penney which was closed by the time we were done so we had to walk around to another exit. Park near a main entrance. There isn't a ton of parking, but we found a spot near the front just fine.

Wonderworks: Totally worth the money!! So many attractions and rides. We were a group of people from ages 32 to 18 and we all enjoyed it! Pick up a brochure and get a $2 off coupon per person! Or we bought a season pass (good for 4 visits), we bought one for the four of us at $86, instead of spending $112. We bought the laser tag combo, too, because laser tag ended up being $3 per person instead of $7. And then any additional games were $3. Laser tag was a lot of fun, too. Bring closed toed shoes! Some rides we weren't able to go on because we were wearing sandals (it is July). We didn't see anywhere on their site about this tip. Also, kids under 48" tall aren't allowed on some rides. And some other rides have a 220 lbs weight limit. A lot of these attractions are not disability friendly. Again, no where on the site about this...

We skipped the ropes course. Didn't look like that much fun. Go karting was super expensive!! It's about $6 a ride here in Rochester, NY. There, it was $23 a ride and I didn't see what was extra special about this course. Plus, you needed closed toed shoes or you could rent some...

We did both excursions at 5 Wits! Totally fun! At $25 per person for both excursions, definitely a good deal. Also, not good for people with disabilities or physical limitations as some of it requires you to crawl.

It definitely took up the whole day. We got there at 1pm. Ate lunch, then did all of this until about 6:30pm. Then we headed to dinner. Most of the restaurants are open much later than the rest of the mall shops.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Syracuse has done a nice job of creating a destination in this mall. It's LEED certification makes it an interesting architectural destination too. I like that there is a mix of high end and outlet stores. Lots of choices for food from The Cheesecake Factory to Subway. Lots of activities...although expensive I'm sure they would make a great filler activity for a rainy day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice mall but,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

the whole "green initiative" means it's almost unbearably hot no matter the temperature outside, there's never, EVER enough parking (and don't get me started on the horrific winter parking because they don't plow the lots) and way too many Canadians. I prefer Great Northern, less crowds and it's properly cooled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Trip to Destiny USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I spent a week In New York on vacation and went shopping at this mall This is a great place for shopping since there are many, many stores for anything you might need or want. It also has plenty of places to eat as well as entertainment for adults and children. We had a great shopping day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destiny USA also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Destiny USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny USA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.