We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strong Hearts Cafe

Strong Hearts Cafe
719 East Genesee Street, Syracuse, NY 13210
315.478.0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 618 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegan
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stumbled across this place after a few friends recommended it to me. Honestly, the menu overwhelmed me at first and I just pointed at something that looked safe and 'normal' (the reuben). It was great! The compassionate way they go about creating their food is also something that appeals to me. Nice job, guys!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only had breakfast here but I liked the vibe, great coffee and vegan cupcake was absolutely delicious, next door to the Crowne Plaza so very convenient. Service was ok and the place had a fun university vibe to it. Will go back next time I"m in Syracuse for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simple, quick and tasty vegan fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I sought out Strong Hearts while staying in Syracuse, having seen it listed on the Happy Cow website. The menu includes lots of breakfast options, salads, sandwiches and an extensive range of shakes (all vegan!). I got the Malcolm X shake (chocolate and cherry) and a reuben sandwich. The food arrived quickly and was tasty, interesting and VERY filling. Good value and very relaxed atmosphere - don't go if you want a fine dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Best coffee shakes vegan or otherwise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not know these were vegan shakes when we tried our first one. They are absolutely fantastic - the only problem is that they are addicting. The coffee shake (Che Guevera) is our favorite.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I went to Strong Hearts Cafe for lunch today and it was just what we were looking for. Two of us had the Citrus Salad with a yummy dressing served on the side and one person had the portobello salad which she enjoyed very much. We all had unsweetened ice tea and we shared a muffin so lunch was around $25. We were pleased with the portions and the price.
The strong sense of family appreciating" good for you food"is evident at Strong Hearts. It is a welcoming modest cafe with a friendly but not over bearing staff. The server who took our orders and delivered them to us seemed to just appreciate the fact that we had chosen to go there for lunch.
We'll be back.........




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strong Hearts Cafe also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Strong Hearts Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strong Hearts Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.