We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Having an Ultra Hip Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Skyler to your Saves list
Hotel Skyler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 S. Crouse, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Like Having an Ultra Hip Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Normally in Syracuse I am banished to the traffic circle ghetto of hotels. I'm always wary of downtown ish places when I am just passing through. I seriously could have moved in for a month. I think some of the downtown places charge for parking, but Skyler did not and it wasn't a hike from the lot to the desk. Wifi worked spectacularly and was included in the room rate. I know "free" coffe and breakfast are the norm at this level, but I really hate crappy buffet, kid pawed through breakfast so I avoid them and always feel like they are part of the room rate anyway. News flash. Nothing comes free. The coffe was absolutely fabulous. Easy to get and cost all of $2. Again - I hate free coffee. Or the coffe that comes with the makers. I generally use a French press and my own coffee and was so happy that their coffee was local and strong.

GREAT bar. I think I will move back in. Great room. Very good tv, bed, etc. I had to get up early and had not factored a breakfast detour into my time. That was a mistake. Whatever they had looked great. I will be back m

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear flyboyswifeEXETER,

We are delighted to read your wonderful review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our local, organic coffee and latte’s. Thank you for being our guest. Our staff would love to accommodate you soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    70
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
60
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Really cool hotel. We did not know it was eco-friendly or anything special until we arrived. I had been on hotels.com and a few other sites to check what was in the area. Finally, I was suggested to go on hotwire since I had seen what areas the hotels were in. It worked out wonderfully, great hotel and AMAZING deal!!

The staff is super friendly, the shuttle service is just great and location (for Syracuse) is just perfect!! :)

Room Tip: The treehouse suites are expensive, but I got a really good deal thru Hotwire.. just make sure you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Keena M,

Thank you for the amazing review, our staff enjoyed reading it! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the time with your family during your stay at Hotel Skyler and that you were able to see our one of a kind “Tree House Suite”. A portion of the revenue goes to Gallisano Children’s Hospital. We hope to see you and your family the next time your travels bring you to the area!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hotel Skyler is a modern beautifully decorated hotel in a good location. Stain glass in the lobby and the high ceilings in the guest room gives the impression that you are in a very high priced hotel. It is an environmentally aware facility located near Syracuse University and many hospitals, They provide transportation to the airport, transportation center and local restaurants. It earned four stars for my visit as breakfast is not included. Coffee in the room or in the lobby at no cost would have been a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sue J,

Thank you so much for the 4 star review! Please know that we do offer breakfast sandwiches, croissants, muffins, assorted pastries, local organic coffee and juice options at Skyler Bar. We would also like to introduce you to our sister hotel, the Parkview Hotel, which includes complimentary breakfast that may suit your needs better. We are excited to see you the next time you are in Syracuse!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We both love architecture and this renovated theater with modern touches made an ideal spot to to stay. Comfortable rooms, environmentally friendly and in a great location, Hotel Skyler hits the trifecta!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Donna N,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Skyler and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We needed a hotel midway between Maine and Ohio. Thanks to Tripadvisor we found the Hotel Skyler. We liked the unique style of this hotel. Everyone was friendly and our room was clean, fresh and the bed was very comfortable. We had delicious breakfast sandwiches, coffee and cinnamon pecan coffee cake at the bar in the morning. If we need a place to stay in the area again we will definitely come back to the Hotel Skyler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bumblebee211,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the breakfast choices at the Skyler Bar. We hope to see you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just happened on this place and thankful we did. First we made a reservation with a great price discount at a companion hotel. Once the error was noticed we quickly called and clarified we wanted to stay here. Normally the steep price discount isn't offered at this location and although it was our error they honored the price and in a better room even. Upon check in the lobby is chic and clean. The fireplace and bar are perfect for a romantic get away. The check in desk is a bit covert because I confused it for a restaurant desk. They have a nice pantry for quick items neatly tucked in a nook off the lobby. The cozy bar encourages a nice quite conversation with your company. The queen/queen room was divine. Comfortable beds, clean linens, roomy bathroom. Without your 'key' the rooms have limited electricity demand. The lights are on an activated timer to save wasteful use of unattended lights. The bathroom didn't have a spot of grime typical of all levels of hotels. I wasn't worried about walking on the floor barefooted. Even at the regular prices the quality and attention to detail of the rooms suggests a higher price. I've stayed in flea bags to some of the finest accommodations with what seems to be a conversely relative price point at times. This stay was worth the cost at twice what we paid. We didn't even need to request transportation with the shuttle or limo which is available for guests. It was a very comforting stay and we will return. During this stay we had the children but this would be most suited for couples, solo, or business stay. This is a perfect adult get away spot. Now they do have a tree house suite which I cannot comment on regarding kid friendly but if it is anything like our room then this review would have to be updated. We will have to try that one out too.

Room Tip: If you call be clear you want the Hotel Skyler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travelerpa70,

Thank you for taking your time to write up a wonderful and detailed review on Tripadvisor! We really enjoyed reading your comments about the hotel and our staff is excited to accommodate you on your next visit. Hope you’ll be able to check out the Tree House Suite the next time; this will serve as a perfect space for your family.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked last minute on Travelocity for $122 plus tax ($40 less than other sites). Located 2 blocks from Syracuse University. In June this is a very quiet place. The hotel is built in an old Synagogue. Our room on third floor was quite large with very high ceilings. All HD channels on the TV. High speed wifi. Breakfast not included. There's a bagle shop that opens at 6AM two blocks up the hill and a Duncan Donuts across the street which you will notice because of the police cars and fire trucks parked outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear carpsenior,

We would like thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Hotel Skyler. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Address: 601 S. Crouse, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you’ll know you’re somewhere special – somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You’re at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse’s first LEED Platinum hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Skyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.