We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Skyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Skyler to your Saves list
Hotel Skyler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 S. Crouse, Syracuse, NY 13210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet & cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night just passing thru syracuse. Place is a transformed temple. The room was a good size on 3rd floor with an architectural arch over window. View from room not the best but it didnt matter. Very energy efficient and clean. The bath products are environmentally friendly. There was plenty of free parking even the pavers were beautiful. Hotel staff very friendly. They just celebrated 1 year in business. Great location near the hospitals and SU although we didn't walk anywhere. No coffee maker in room & it was an extra in lobby. Has a Nice snack shop. Overall nice place would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sonesta7,

We truly appreciate your nice comments about our staff and the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    70
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
60
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I absolutely loved the colors and fabrics used in my room. The design and decor of my room and bathroom were spot on. I wish all hotels could have such taste. The lobby is striking with the beautiful stained glass windows. And on top of it all it is an eco friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Rombutan,

Thank you very much for your great comments about your room and the hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old reno'd church located in the University hub. Amazing architecture, vault ceilings which made the room feel twice the size. The washroom has an amazing walk in shower with half glass enclosure and a rain shower. Heaven!

The bed was out of this world! Visually pleasing with beautiful linens and oversized pillows framing it. The matress was a new thick pillow top which felt like a cloud. There is a huge wall mounted flat screen tv at the foot of the bed.

There is a small workout room with a couple of treadmills and an elliptical and a desktop computer with a color laser printer for guest convenience. There is free wi-fi as well.

There is gated guest parking and a lively outdoor patio with great loungers and stuffed patio furniture. The who hotel and grounds are smoke free as well! Nice touch.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service into the Armoury Square hub which boasts an array of amazing restaurants and pubs and has an incredible vibe. The shuttle, a sleek black town car, was driven by 'Magoo' - a personable Syracuse local who gave us a mini tour complete with recommendations of the best places to go. He circled the downtown area twice, pointing out the hot spots and then dropped us in the hub. At the end of night we called the hotel and had a shuttle pick us up within10 minutes and take us safely back to the hotel.

Truly an amazing hotel. We will certainly be back on our next trip through Syracuse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Charli70,

Thank you for your truly amazing and detailed review. Please know your comments have been shared with our staff to enjoy. We are excited to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I spent this labor day weekend visiting some friends in the area, and booked a room with a king bed for three nights at the last minute. We were charged $149 a night plus tax, which is not bad considering how lovely this hotel is and how last minute we booked over a busy weekend (the weekend of the state fair and the first syracuse football game).

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms were super clean, the bed was super comfortable (some people have complained about the pillows, but I find them just fine), the room was very comfortable in terms of a/c (i was afraid it might be a bit warm because this place is leed platinum, but really it made no difference in terms of comfort), the parking is right next to the entrance, everybody is very friendly and the bar in the lobby, though basic, offers a decent amount of things to eat/drink. I found myself wanting to stay in the room because the room was just so comfortable. I would definitely stay here again (if I ever have to come to Syracuse.) It really made this trip very pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. It was fine, and though some people complained about noise in other re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear checazzohaidetto,

What a wonderful review to read; we are so happy to hear your stay was satisfactory. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff& Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wonderful little hotel near the university. Very comfortable, free parking, adorable lobby with great morning coffee, clean and "boutique" feeling. I called their sister hotel to make a reservation and they suggested this one, closer to where i wished to be and a few dollars cheaper. Employees were very nice and helpful. My new place to stay while visiting my student!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear abbyvt,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We loved hearing you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my first time in Syracuse, in town for the NY State Fair. The Skyler is a renovated synagogue and it's nicely done and the place is spotless. Parking is easy and it's near the highways and so forth.

The room was nice with the exception of the pillows, which weren't comfortable. The bed, however, was fine and the television/cable etc was great. Bathroom was nice as were the toiletries. There's a small fridge in the room, necessary as there is a bar (they do good cappuccinos) but there is no food service aside from a small concession area.

Service was fine BUT they neglected to give me my wake-up call. I never count on those and always have my phone alarm set, still they need to be more careful going forward.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear ManhattanWilliam,

Thank you for your contributions on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our deepest apologies for missing your wake-up call as we use your feedback for training purposes. Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

In town to visit daughter at college and love the convenient location to the city, SU and surrounding colleges. The hotel is spotless and expertly concert from a former space to a hotel, lots of space in each uniquely spaced room, free parking, walking distance to multiple restaurants , bars and Carrier Dome.

Staff overwhelmingly helpful and accommodating. Rates were fairly reasonable considering our late booking. Look forward to returning many times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Skyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Address: 601 S. Crouse, Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you’ll know you’re somewhere special – somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You’re at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse’s first LEED Platinum hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Skyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.