We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill with a drink in a 1070's leather chair...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge

Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge
321 S Clinton St, Armory Square, Syracuse, NY 13202-1219
+1 315-703-4773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 609 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill with a drink in a 1070's leather chair...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

sangria was a little strange, but the beer selection is sufficient. Had some vodka and chilled for a bit people watching. good location

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The abundance of comfy couches and immense selection of adult beverages were a hit when entertaining friends from out of town. Friendly bartenders kept up with a busy Sunday night crowd. We may have found a new regular stop on our Armory Square tours.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good location from downtown. Great decor in solid old building. Place has a strange layout up front but some corners in back. place to shoot pool in the back, a couple lounge areas, darts, and a full sized bar. The down side is you probably wont be able to get a seat to eat. Not enough tables for food. Mostly stools and couches. I think Al's prides itself on its flavorful foods. I had the nachos with chicken and cheese. I didnt think it was great but it was ok. Maybe I wasnt that hungry. One other thing that happened was a bum walked in off the street and made a comment to a customer on how fast he was eating. They quickly kicked him out. Overall, I would visit again for drinks and recommend to friends. There's a mix of all drinking ages here. Good place for a night out

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New favorite spot in Syracuse for drinks and light fare...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a great little spot in the Armory Square area. We travel to Syracuse a few times a year to visit our kids at school. At this point, we have been to most of the places around town and rarely enjoy anything new or all that intriguing... Until last night! Invited to join some friends over at Al's, we had no idea what a treat was in store. The place is just charming. Like being in someboy's cosy living room. With a really long bar and lots of comfy leather seating, you just wanted to sit and soak up the atmosphere... And of course their extensive alcoholic offerings. All the bottles behind the bar are stored in a library type bookcase with a rolling ladder to obtain the less popular selections up towards the ceiling. Their collection is huge and really impressive. The bartenders really know their stuff and are more than happy to make suggestions. Their prices range from the reasonable to insane, perfect for any budget. We started our evening with a Manhattan that was well made and $8. We usually pay around $12 at most other places. We then moved onto "fancier" bourbon - sold as a shot...too "good" to waste in a manhattan or dilute over ice. Just FABULOUS! The 15 year Old Pappy Vanwinkle was $15.

They also have a light bar menu with daily fresh baked bread. We didn't eat anything, but everything looked good. If you check out their website, they show lots of pictures of the food and enviroment. And age wise, their were plenty of people in the 40-50 year old range and plenty of young college age guys (all well dressed and really well behaved).

So if you are looking for a fun place to spend some time in Syracuse and get great drinks... Al's just might be that place. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Whiskey Selection, Pretty Lame Trivia Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Went for Trivia Night. It was run pretty poorly (really, just handing out pieces of paper with random questions on them and giving you 5 minutes to scribble your answers doesn't constitute my idea of Trivia Night)... The Whiskey selection was good. I went back on Friday night, it was busy with a good DJ. I would recommend this for the weekend atmosphere and the drinks (Racer 5 on tap :) ) But I would not recommend for Trivia Night.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
 

Been to Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Wine & Whiskey Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.