We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ophelia's Garden Inn

Ophelia's Garden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Syracuse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ophelia's Garden Inn
Save
You added Ophelia's Garden Inn to your Saves list
400 S. Avery Ave., Syracuse, NY 13219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great hosts. Great gardens. Great atmosphere. Great rooms. Old world coziness. Privacy. Peace. Charm. The best B&B I ever stayed in. Quiet neighborhood. A great reason to stay in Syracuse a long time. Paint in the gardens or write in the gardens, or be their to enjoy the calm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie Ophelia P, Owner at Ophelia's Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Jimmy,

What a great review.....we appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again....soon! And hopefully you'll get to meet my Dad on one of your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
13
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice enough, bit bohemian, clean, quiet park like settingsetting but overall not good value for money relative to Hampton or other chains with reliable Wifi and other amenities. Provided good recommendations for dinner in the Armory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, N.Y.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Ophelia's Labor Day weekend and it was a great experience. It was a convenient location to where our family lived, it was spacious, clean and very welcoming. Ophelia and Dave could not have been better hosts. Home cooked breakfast was delicious. We had the good fortune of being able to eat outside overlooking their beautiful yard and gardens and watching the dogs play. An added bonus was being able to sit outside on their portico reading my book and having a glass of wine with my family. This inn is a keeper!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a really nice experience at Ophelia's last week. The house is fabulous and the surroundings and hosts will make you feel right at home. Annie went out of her way to get us in a room close to last minute. Breakfast was excellent. There are a few neighborhood pubs within walking distance and the only green light on top traffic light in the US is a few blocks away (Irish pride). It was a perfect quiet end to a hectic vacation.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this B&B because it had some good reviews and was in an area of the city that I wanted to explore. I was not disappointed in any way - in fact, I can't wait to return. All dealings with Annie on the phone were perfectly pleasant and the greeting when I arrived was very nice. I was put in the French Room, where Annie had turned on the a/c so it would be comfortable for my arrival. The room was completely charming with a very nice private bath just across the hall. I believe I was the only guest that night, but there were lights on in the house and I felt perfectly comfortable. In the morning, Annie and her husband, David, we're cheery and accommodating, and set me up to eat breakfast in their gorgeous garden. I sat there reading the provided newspaper and eating delicious sliced fruit, followed by scrambled eggs and good toast and even some wonderful little scones. I appreciated that Annie and David were helpful and personable but were not hovering. I also liked the fact that breakfast was pretty normal - no fancy baked dishes and fatty foods, just a nice, hearty breakfast. I try to get to Syracuse once every summer and will look forward to my next stay at Ophelia's.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ophelia's Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words....we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I dont usually write reviews, however after reading the negative ones about this inn I simply had to. It is easy to notice upon arrival that Ophelias Garden Inn takes pride in the decor and grounds. There are no shortage of breathtaking places on the property to enjoy. One of my favorites is the hammock by the pond where I can relish in the beauty and solitude of my secret getaway spot. Annie and David are a delight and are always making sure I have everything I need. I will be frequenting this historic and enchanting place for many years to come.

Room Tip: The canopy room is my favorite :)
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Ophelia's Garden Inn. The location couldn't have been more perfect for her to go shopping and me to attend the SU football game. Our room was large, quiet, and well-appointed; the bed was very comfortable and elegantly made-up. The hosts, Annie and David, were extremely friendly and accommodating -- they even cooked me oatmeal for breakfast (which they hadn't planned on) for my heart-healthy diet -- and offered us an unexpected glass of wine upon our arrival. The grounds are lush and well-kept; they seemed even more so given the presence of parks on two sides of the Inn, which contributes to the serenity. We toured the gardens and were invited to explore the mansion, too, with its many interesting nooks and crannies. The living and dining/breakfast rooms are large and very impressive. While some of the guest rooms were smaller than ours, they all looked cozy, clean, and welcoming. We'll surely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ophelia's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ophelia's Garden Inn

Address: 400 S. Avery Ave., Syracuse, NY 13219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1925 English country Estate sits on three acres surrounded by trees, gardens and a pond. Located on the edge of Tipperary Hill, the Inn is surrounded by parks....an arboretum across the street on one side, a golf course and zoo on the other side and the back side of a nine acre park. Although you feel like you are in the countryside, you are only six minutes from the heart of downtown Syracuse's Armory Square District. Bicyclists not only enjoy the safe keeping of their bikes in the spacious garage, but after a long day can find two outstanding restaurants within walking distance. This hidden gem is a great place to unwind, relax and take in the beauty that surrounds you. We cater to your special dietary needs. Come enjoy our Labor of Love. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ophelia's Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.