We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCARY NEIGHBORHOOD” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   454 James Street, Syracuse, NY 13203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SCARY NEIGHBORHOOD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Building immediately next to the lodge is a halfway house w/ drug dealers and pediphiles. Eveyone who knew we were staying there warned us to be careful in the area. Police cars were about all the time. Construction workers were drunk upstairs catcalling and annoying us. We saw very little of Syracuse during the evening, as we did not feel safe coming back after dark.. Keep your doors locked! The front line staff at the desk were nice. They replaced the facets, but the old remained?? Weird! The prices were quoted on another link, and stated they included shuttle service, which they do not.

Room Tip: Cheap, basic, but not for a single gal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    11
    12
    15
See reviews for
7
5
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel is one of the cheapest solution in Syracuse, and it's not that bad. Nice room. The neighborhood is not the best, but I was a girl, traveling alone, and I didn't have any problem. Some reviews say there are bed bugs, I didn't see them though!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We looked at one room and it was very small and smelt of cigarette smoke (even though it was meant to be non-smoking) and so I said that we wouldn't stay here. The guy at reception showed me another room - king size bed, tub - it looked o.k. and didn't smell. We were just driving by and needed to stop for the night, it was snowing and we didn't have time to shop around - so we decided to stay. The guy at reception gave us the bigger room for the price of the smaller room but still for $79+taxes it WAS NOT WORTH IT.

Negatives:
Shower curtain was moldy
Carpet was filthy, wipe it with a cloth and the white cloth comes up black!
Pillows were terrible
Stains on towels and one towel smelt of cigarette smoke
Towels were old (poor quality) and small
Grip pads were permanently stuck to bathtub and were filthy, so when you have to sit on them to have a bath you are probably getting foot fungus or worse!
Decor is terrible - needs upgrading
Check-in was very very slow
Breakfast was not worth it (doesn't look anything like the picture)
No coffee/tea making facilities in the room
Only 2 towels for 3 people so we had to ring up and ask for more - they should just know to give you enough towels.

Positives:
Fridge in the room
Free WIFI

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Worst motel experience ever. There were bugs in our room, had to change rooms at 2 am and found bugs in the other room too.
Had to move to another hotel at 3 am! I was suffering from the bug bites for 2 weeks after that.
What is worse, we came back to settle accounts the next day and found that they had already let our room with the bugs
to another customer without bothering to go through any pest control.
Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I should have left but I was proving a point. YUCK! Filthy, disgusting, horrible. I think that gives you the picture. I did not remove my shoes for the two nights we stayed. It is in a bad area. But, convenient to the University which is why we were there. I am not a motel snob but this place needs to be gutted and rebuilt. It needs management that just might care and well if you want a clean room and feel safe DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed for two nights for the NY State Fair. Check in wad easy and was even given directions via public transportation to get to the fair. Also given directions to walk to Dinosaur Barbecue. Upon entering the room it smelled a little stale. Probably because it needed fresh air. I checked the bed for bed bugs. No bed bugs. However, I did it was time for them to get new sheets. They were clean but you could tell new bedding was necessary, I wasn't too crazy about the shower stall. The tiles could have been much cleaner. The toilet was slow to flush but it did work. At some point during my stay one of the chairs I sat in at the table in my room broke. You could tell the chair should have been replaced a while ago. I will admit the night person on duty Friday night was very kind and courteous. I had come back from the fair and was in need of tea. He actually boiled fresh water in the coffee pot so I could make some tea. I eally appreciated that. Overall, I would most likely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This is in a rougher neighborhood of Syracuse, so I wouldn't let your kids run around by themselves outside. It's not in the university neighborhood, it's just outside of downtown and would be considered north side Syracuse. That said, I'm sure you'll be fine, the hotel has lots of security cameras, only 1 entrance into the parking lot, and this family-run hotel has someone working at all hours. When I woke up at 3 am to go get a coke, the husband was there to give me change for a $5 bill.

I like this place. I stay here whenever I come to town. It's clean, the rooms are renovated, the forced air electric heat in each room works well. Good cable TV. Shampoo and soap etc are provided. Refrigerator and microwave in each room. Didn't bring my laptop this time so not sure about wifi. Pretty decent value at an affordable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 454 James Street, Syracuse, NY 13203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Syracuse
Syracuse Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.