We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Village Hero
80 Jericho Tpke Ste 3, Syosset, NY 11791-4596
(516) 921-2522
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Syosset
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Syosset, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food! Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are looking for great food at a great value you can't miss at Village Hero. This is a neighborhood hole in the wall. It has been around for ever. Very low on ambiance but very high on local character . Not fine dining but great food at great prices. More of an eat in deli than a restaurant it is counter service only.

Breakfast is cooked fresh and to order. Sandwiches are huge and amazing variety. Dinner portions are huge but VH closes fairly early more of a pick up something on the way home from work. Catering is fantastic, always fresh, beautifully presented flavorful and like everything else reasonably priced.

My family and I eat in or take out at least 2-3 times per week and have used their catering service for parties and business functions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coram, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Village is Verified as a place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went here for breakfast and had an excellent meal. When you dine in, you are served on a real plate with real silverware! This is just like your favorite diner, quality food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time visiting both times the tall guy at the pick up counter looked passed me and continuously cashed out people that were coming in after me, eventually having to walk out. I WILL NEVER GIVE THIS PLACE MY BUSUNESS AGAIN AND I WILL BE SURE TO SHARD MY EXPERIENCES WITH MY COMPANY AS WE OFTEN USE THEM FOR PARTIES.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've eaten at the Village Hero every time I've stayed at the hotel next door, and each time it just gets better. The portions for the price are fantastic, and the quality is mind-blowing. I highly recommend the Lasagna Soup when they have it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“best and fastest hero/sandwich in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

consistant food quality.....time after time
dated dining area.......more for the trades people
excellent service with decent pricing
fast reliable delivery

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Hero also viewed

 

Been to Village Hero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.