We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steve s Piccola Bussola II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Steve s Piccola Bussola II
Jackson Ave, Syosset, NY
(516) 364-8383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Syosset
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Coram, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overall a nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a company holiday party and it was a nice place. Don't order house wine as it was not very good. Salad was very good, not your typical salad but bread was plain, no redeeming qualities.
Most people had veal marsala or chicken parm. which were enjoyed. There were two of us that had fried filet of sale while they gave a nice sized filet, you could taste the oil which was not pleasant. Side dishes of spinach and potatoes were a mixed reaction. Dessert was very good which consisted of various Italian pastries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a joke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The old La Viola spot is now this. My first awful experience happened at the bar while waiting for our party to be seated. I ordered a Kettle One Citreon with splash of Cranberry. This is the only alcohol I drink and I know the taste well. Whatever this was it was NOT Kettle One! It was vile. I ordered another. The bottle he poured from was a Kettle One bottle, but what came out it tasted like cheap horrible vodka. You draw your own conclusions. A friend in our party actually became so ill from his drinks ( he is a moderate drinker but usually holds his liquor well) had to go home! The atmosphere is very Italian. Food is served family style. We had a large party. Service was generally good but this place is just average and a real Italian cliche'. The bill came it was astronomical. A horrible value.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We go to this restaurant more than any other. The food is delicious and portions are a nice size-family style.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best family style restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very good food every time I go there. Friendly staff and ownership

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great evening at Steve's Piccola Bussola in Syosset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We were a party of 8 people an Steve's had a table that seated us all comfortably.
At first glance prices on the menu seemed high but then you read that the
portions are meant to serve 2 people or family style. Two orders of fried calamari serve all
8 of us for an appetizer. So choose a buddy to share with or save some and have a meal for tomorrow!!
All of our entrees were very good, from the chicken, to veal and even mussels. I would recommend this place and look forward to going again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve s Piccola Bussola II also viewed

 

Been to Steve s Piccola Bussola II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve s Piccola Bussola II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.