We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare 650

Rare 650
650 Jericho Turnpike, Syosset, NY 11791
516-496-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare 650 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Syosset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: South Oyster Bay Rd
Transit: LIRR Syosset station
Massapequa Park, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner at Rare 650. Raiza and Raoul were our waiters. Both were excellent and very professional. They were well prepared and very professional. The food was excellent and I was very happy to find that they had Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA on tap! One of my favorites. I had the small sushi platter and my wife had the rib eye. Bothe were awesome. The setting is beautiful and the bar was great, it was a great way to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best New York Strip steak ever.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Admittedly it was a private function organised by the grooms father, well done Julius! Food and service was first class and the steak was one of the best ever. Cannot comment on value as we were guests
.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place has many high quality options for dinner.
The atmosphere is a quality restaurant to bring friends and or relatives to to have a nice evening.
Prices are a little high, but food is delicious .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great night with friends. Steak was amazing. All the food was terrific. Highly recommended for a special night out with friends. A little pricy, but worth the cost.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good, but was a bit of a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Steak was great. Outdoor patio was really cool (but could not sit there because of the smoke). However, for the price ($290 for three people with only two drinks), I was expecting exceptional. Known for steaks, but it is no Lugar's, St. Elmo's, Bones, etc. Personally, though it was good, I would not go back because it wasn't worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare 650 also viewed

 

Been to Rare 650? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare 650, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.