We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and courteous hotel at a convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Suffern to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    29
    28
    29
See reviews for
50
23
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room and hotel was very dirty , very upset paid $134.00
Jacuzzi was VERY dirty couldn't use it, bathroom too
Every Thursday I need 2 nights in this area , the second night was moving to different hotel
Will NEVER go back to there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We wish to sincereley apologize for the inconvenince caused. We do take care of the rooms on regular basis,However,there might have been some lapse on our part which should have been taken care by our house keeping supervisor. We request you to reconsider your stay with us and give us one more opportunity to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good price. If you're looking for a good room while on your travels, then this is a great place. The breakfast was only meh, but everything else was just fine. Exactly what you'd expect from a newer HoJo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We highly appreciate your comments and a positive review. Our breakfast conforms to HOJO norms,However,We appreciate your suggestion about breakfast and would consider to make your experience better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Did not enjoy my stay. The elevator was terribly stinky, could hear EVERYTHING from the room next door, and was overall disappointed with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We wish to apologize for the inconvenineces. We take care of the cleanliness of the elivator by regularly mopping at frequent intervals. Occasionally guests spill some liquids which are taken care in due time. Our rooms allow enough privacy and they with stand outer disturbances. In your case the noise might have been too loud. We wish to make your next visit a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The people that I come in contact with are always helpful, friendly and responsive. I recommend this hotel to business partners and friends for a nice comfortable and affordable stay. Thanks to the folks at Howard Johnsons!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We would like to thanlk you for your repeated stay with us. We highly appreciate your good review about our property and staff.The good recommendations put forth by you would certailnly inspire prospective guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very polite I like this hotel the best one I have been at clean very nice people comfortable beds clean bathrooms I like the microwaves in the rooms so I can bring my own super and heat it up I stay here every Thursday for business

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We highly appreciate your comments and wish that most of our guest are like you.The encouragement received from guest boosts our morale to make the stay of every guest more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binghamton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

THey should be taken out of the Trip Advisor book. They never honor the coupon...always say they are full, but they never are. Breakfast is shoody....kids monopolize the waffle maker and management does nothing to stop it. Management is never friendly at the desk...not helpful at all. Acually quite rude and if you just walk in without a reservation they overcharge....a lot.

Room Tip: make sure a/c works and isn't too noisy...we had to turn ours off and swelter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for visiting us. Inconvenience caused to you is highley regretted. We wish to inform you that coupons scheme has been discontinued since last december. our breakfast is as per the franchaise requirment, when kids are at breakfast area we feel that the adults should be considerate towards children. rates for the walkin customer would be different from reservation rates, However,they will be corresponding to our rack rates.We do highley appreciate your comments and we will try to live up to your axpetations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

Address: 17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Suffern 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern Hotel Suffern
Howard Johnson Suffern
Suffern Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Suffern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.