We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food since Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marcello's Ristorante

Marcello's Ristorante
21 Lafayette Ave, Suffern, NY
845-357-9108
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Suffern
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Italian Food since Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The food, atmosphere, everything was so perfect. We had a 3 hour dinner because we were captivated by everything. I would go back every week if I didnt live in Florida!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelloSuffern, Owner at Marcello's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING! BRAVO TO THE CHEF!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food here is an experience and a treat to boot. It is so worth it to get nicely dressed for and upscale meal. You are treated with the "white glove" treatment and a smile. I love that Marcello comes out to make sure all is good and will chat with you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelloSuffern, Owner at Marcello's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Over the years we have visited Marcello's many times. You are always greeted with a smile. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and willing to offer suggestions. The ambiance is perfect for a family dinner or date night. All that aside, nothing beats the foods. Pasta dishes are amazing as is anything else they offer. One thing for certain, you will never be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelloSuffern, Owner at Marcello's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went to restaurant week at Marcello's last night. While things started off nicely, we quickly felt a cold front come through. Plates were delivered and removed abruptly. We were not asked for additional drinks. The dessert (included) came without any offer for coffee.
The only thing that we could assume is that they were not happy that we all ordered the restaurant week menu. They should not offer it if they don't want people to order it.
The atmosphere is quite formal with waiters in suits....perhaps they should also follow some of the basic simple rules.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelloSuffern, Owner at Marcello's Ristorante, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I am Very sorry about your bad service you received at Marcello please if you read our past review we have a good amount of good review to help us improve the service
please let me know in which room you were Friday night
and if you can give me few more details.
Writing a review on the internet it is not the best way to help a good business for more than 27 years writing a email to the owner is the better way then if same bad service happen on your next visit then a bad review is well deserved thank you Marcello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Last but not least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Marcello's but certainly won't be our last. The service was great and the food was outstanding. We were a party of 11 with each having a different entree and everyone was satisfied. The staff was professional; the restrooms were clean and the atmosphere was friendly. The menu had a good variety from which one could select between beef, chicken, veal and fish with several different forms of preparation. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelloSuffern, Owner at Marcello's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcello's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Marcello's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcello's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.