We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Of Peru In Rockland County, NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taita

Taita
41 Lafayette Avenue, Suffern, NY 10901-5405
845-547-2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 50 restaurants in Suffern
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Chestnut Ridge, New York
1 review
“A Bit Of Peru In Rockland County, NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed an interesting and tasty dinner at Taita. Patricio was our server and kindly provided explanations and information. Peruvian food is a new taste for me and I plan to visit the restaurant again. Taita is a welcome addition to Rockland County, NY!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    5
    3
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I was at a conference at a theater up the street. The speaker gave us an hour for lunch. The place was empty aside from the people from my conference, who trilled in over the course of ten minutes. Maybe 12 of us total. MY food took 50 minutes to come out and it wasn't what I ordered. I refused to accept it and went without lunch. Not even an I'm sorry from the staff

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Put this place on your map”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ate at this restaurant two times and was delightfully surprised at the originality of the dishes. Very unconventional looking from the outside that you might not even go in thinking you don't belong there but that is not true at all. To start, your server who is from Peru, will bring you a small serving of roasted maize with dip which may have lime in it. Next time I'll ask what's in the dip. You may think the maize serving is too small but it's best not to overindulge here because the course servings are most filling and tasty. The servers are nice and the real deal and if you are an arty kind of person will appreciate the individuality of the restaurant. It is cash only though- also the real deal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't go.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Food was overpriced. Took ages to come. Sides were OK but mains tasted awful no flavour. The Waiter was friendly though, but all in all a very bad experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
“Old food and don't take credit card”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food was old and didn't taste right. I ordered pollo con papas an it was disgusting... Very salty and old... The dessert and chicha morada were the only 2 items from the menu that were decent ... They didn't take any credit card and there wasn't any sign that said so... I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taita also viewed

 

Been to Taita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.