We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Circle Road, Stony Brook, NY 11794   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Package!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Springfield, United States
1 review
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was very clean. The room was nice when I arrived. Bathroom was very clean and ready. Bed was comfortable. Very satisfied with this hotel and the price was better than any others around the area. It was also in a very nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    53
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
94
19
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Il
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is comfortable with an inviting lobby and nice sleeping rooms. Since it is on a very nice University campus, the surrounding area is very nice for a walkabout.

But hotel service is minimal. For instance, I asked the front desk clerk for a taxi and he handed me the business cards of two taxi services. To me, hotel service means the front desk clerk calls and arranges the taxi since I am unfamilar with the area.

Also, the breakfast baffet is limited and overpriced.

Room Tip: I still recommend this hotel. But just know that this is a limited service facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was attending at conference at SUNY Stony Brook and my wife and I stayed here. The room was clean and attractive. The conference food, which was served in an academic building, was superb. The breakfast buffet for conference attendees was tasty and included, eggs, bacon, potatoes and the usual pastries and drinks. The business center computers were easily accessible and quick to access the Net. Front desk people were cheerful and helpful. Free parking! Can't comment on the room price because the room was free with attendance at the conference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location right on SUNY campus, also near hospital. Beautiful lobby, upscale interesting menu at restaurant. Room furnishings top-notch comfortable! Staff is mostly working very hard to please customers and iron out a few "kinks" in a new hotel. Shuttle pickup and check-in on a cold room took too long, but I chalk it up to brand new opening, getting their communication systems down pat. I slept extremely well and felt glad to bring in business-related contacts to talk in lobby and at restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed at Hilton Garden Inn before, and as always the staff and room were perfect. This Hotel was especially clean and the staff always asked if there was something that they could do for us. Now lets mention the price, compared to hotels in Disney @ 750.00 a night , Hilton Garden Inn blows the competition out of the water. Great Stay.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

this hotel is brand new, everything was wonderful. Staff was extremely helpful. beds were very comfortable. our room had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. internet was included and there were plenty of outlets to charge our devices. we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The good news: The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are small but nice. The rooms are standard motel rooms, but the AC unit is fairly quiet, and the room is fairly uniformly cooled. This is a big plus.

There is no bad news, but a lot of not so good news: The staff is very amateur. The front desk is not knowledgeable about the area. For example, when asked for a recommendation to a good seafood restaurant in Port Jefferson, the answer was "They are all good." As a result, we had a truly unappetizing dinner. Our bad luck. The "pool" is not the lap pool you might expect in a business hotel (and from the photos), but a little splash pool--useless. The laundry has one machine. The dining room offers a decent enough buffet breakfast at $12.95 a person. But the hostess would not leave us in peace. At one point, she asked if we were pleased with the service in the dining room. I asked her what she meant by "service," given that this was a self-service buffet. Her response was that we could have gone up to the window and ordered an omelet! Too funny. What was not so funny, was that when our little grandchildren came down for breakfast, she lamented right in front of them that, because it was breakfast, she could not give them ice cream! She was relentless and kept badgering us.

Finally, the room price was also outrageous--and we are talking about the discount price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda J, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. Please know that your comments are used to enhance our services, products and amenities. We appreciate your taking the time to write to us and my very best regards. We look forward to changing your views on our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook

Address: 1 Circle Road, Stony Brook, NY 11794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook hotel offers stylish accommodations ideally located on the campus of Stony Brook University and just across the street from the Stony Brook University Hospital. Enjoy easy access to the Stony Brook campus, plus nearby shopping, beaches and malls. We are also conveniently located just 12 miles from McArthur Airport and 60 miles from New York City. Explore Long Island from the LIRR Stony Brook Station located on the university campus or take the complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions in the local area. Unwind in a spacious guest room and keep in touch with complimentary internet access. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner and weekdays for lunch. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a snack from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® or order a meal from room service (evening only). The Pavilion Lounge offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with a workout in the complimentary fitness center or enjoy a splash in the pool. The Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook also offers flexible meeting space, ideal for seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.