We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primo hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Circle Road, Stony Brook, NY 11794   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Package!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
West Shokan, New York
1 review
“Primo hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service, was excellent, the hotel room was spotless and comfortable and the pool was divine. This is my newest favorite place to stay when I visit on LI. I only hope the quality of service and cleanliness can be maintained for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    53
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
94
19
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came for a college campus visit and we were so pleased to be able to stay at a hotel right on campus. The hotel was so much more than we expected. It is new and lovely! The staff was friendly and accommodating The rooms are clean and beautiful. They have flat panel TV's, microwaves and refrigerators, and complementary wireless internet connection. The beds are very comfortable and the food is very good - especially the breakfast! Great buffet! Oh! And let's not forget the pool! What more could we have asked for? We are very particular about our hotel stays, so you can believe our rating!

Room Tip: King Suite - great for a family of 3 or 4. Our teenager had his own space and TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook. The hotel is only about a month old and everything runs and looks great. It is a great pleasure knowing that you can stay in a room that has hardly ever been used. All the bedding and towels are so soft and have not been "bleached to death". The high speed internet in the hotel ran great as well as I never got kicked off or had problems with slow speed. Finally the staff took great pride in their hotel and made me feel like I was a member of their family being welcomed in their home. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in the area. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are a very nice room and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

One would assume that staying in a hotel based on a college campus would be a nightmare. I was pleasantly surprised as my room was very quiet and it seem as if i was teleported to an entirely different realm. The rooms are a bit small but this was not a probblem for me, notably there was a small refrigerator and a microwave.
Breakfast was more than i would pay usually but it was so amazing i felt to remorse. Overall the pricing is a bit on the higher side, but the service makes up for the price. This is definitely a good place if you just want some "me or special us" time. I will definitely be going back i think the breakfast got me.:-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Optimistic26,

We would like to sincerely thank you for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook and taking the time to write a review about our property. It is our ultimate goal to make every Guest of the hotel feel at home, and we are extremely happy to hear that you had a positive experience. We are pleased to offer a microwave and refrigerator in every Guest room for your convenience. We also have Junior King Suites and Presidential/Bridal Suites available if you need more space.

In addition, we will be certain to pass on your comments to the breakfast team! Our cooks are always pleased to prepare a full hot cooked to order breakfast to your liking, along with offering a large selection of danishes, fresh fruit, and a well prepared continental breakfast area.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our Guest soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further comments, questions or concerns. The breakfast is calling your name!

Michael Jaskot
Guest Services Manager
631.941.2980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook

Address: 1 Circle Road, Stony Brook, NY 11794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook hotel offers stylish accommodations ideally located on the campus of Stony Brook University and just across the street from the Stony Brook University Hospital. Enjoy easy access to the Stony Brook campus, plus nearby shopping, beaches and malls. We are also conveniently located just 12 miles from McArthur Airport and 60 miles from New York City. Explore Long Island from the LIRR Stony Brook Station located on the university campus or take the complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions in the local area. Unwind in a spacious guest room and keep in touch with complimentary internet access. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner and weekdays for lunch. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a snack from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® or order a meal from room service (evening only). The Pavilion Lounge offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with a workout in the complimentary fitness center or enjoy a splash in the pool. The Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook also offers flexible meeting space, ideal for seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.