We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3131 Nesconset Highway, Stony Brook, NY 11720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“clean decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this place for one night and I enjoyed it.
The building is old but very well kept. check in process was fast, front desk people were nice and helpful. lobby is nice and decent. There is a business center in the lobby with printer which can be of great help. the room was clean and all the sheets and towels were spotless. Few cable channels are more than enough . the room had microwave and fridge in it which makes longer stays easier. Breakfast was free and included several items.
Overall, it's good option and won't surprise you in a bad way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
21
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had to stay in this hotel for 2 nights when I was in my best friend's wedding in the area (8/2012). My boyfriend and I were only in the room to sleep. THE BED WAS THE WORST BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN. I'm not exaggerating when I say it was ROCK HARD. The king bed we had was the same as sleeping on the floor. Completely FLAT and stiff. No pillow-top or ANY PADDING. It was truly unbelievable. Because we couldn't get a good night's sleep I was left physically exahusted. I'm 28, fit and in good health but it took me 3 days for my body to recover and not feel like I was hit by a train. We were both incredible SORE for days. I paid $180/night at the "discounted rate" and honestly feel robbed. They only charge the high prices they do because options in that area are so limited you don't have any other choice. On a good note, the room was very clean and the continental breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Complain at the front desk if you stay here and have any problems. I made the mistake of not saying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here as it was reserved as a wedding block. The rooms are outdated and clearly need some work. But for a Holiday Inn Express, it was not too bad. We also liked that it was not too far away from the City...approximately 1 hour drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

the rooms are dated, a LOT. staff is nice but the rooms are just awful. the internet is SLOW and impossible if you want to work. Wont stay here next time. The hotel really needs to be renovated big time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

That's the best thing I can say. The decor was terrible. Cheap, cheap furniture. Ugly carpet. Bedding was like sleeping on sandpaper. Even the tissues in the bath were the poorest quality. I stayed here for a week to visit family and friends, but never again. I'd rather have to drive further to be more comfortable. It was also greatly overpriced for what you get.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Janet S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology if you did not completely find our room accommodations to your liking. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanex
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were in the area attending a wedding. I had not stayed in a Holiday Inn property in a long time. A property that has been renovated very nicely to become the Holiday Inn Express. Conmforatble, clean, pleasant staff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Needed to be in the area, and this place filled the bill very nicely. Particularly liked the surrounding grounds/garden. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Address: 3131 Nesconset Highway, Stony Brook, NY 11720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook-Long Island offers 143 newly renovated guest rooms: standard kings, queens, two room suites, spa rooms, and handicap accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook - Long Island hotel is a designated non-smoking property. All rooms feature: flat screen plasma cable TVs w/HBO, CNN, ESPN, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet access, iPod docking stations and pay-per-view movies. Additional in-room amenities are: microwave/refrigerator unit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, & a coffee maker in every room. Our hotel meeting rooms can accommodate 100 people theater style, up to 80 banquet style and we offer use of our audio/visual equipment. All guests enjoy complimentary hot Continental buffet breakfast, 20X40 indoor heated pool and use of our fully equipped fitness center. Roll away beds are available at no additional charge. Children stay free and the hotel has a playground, and there are plenty of local attractions geared toward children. Our amenities include a putting green, horseshoe courts, and athletic fields with basketball, tennis, softball and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook Hotel Stony Brook
Holiday Inn Stony Brook
Stony Brook Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.