We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3131 Nesconset Highway, Stony Brook, NY 11720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Needed to be in the area, and this place filled the bill very nicely. Particularly liked the surrounding grounds/garden. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
21
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I came here with my husband to relax trying to recover from a medical issue. The first day we had to call the plumber because the toilet wouldn't flush. Second the the toilet got clogged again and no one was available to fix it because it was the weekend. we were told to use the lobby bathroom because they couldn't switch us to another room. The lobby bathroom were horrible, they also had plumbing issues. The managers were not around and all they could do is take $42 off the bill.

Room Tip: Try the spring hill suites by the Marriott on north bellport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Friendly staff, room was immaculate. Bathroom faucets were shiny like just polished, sink was sparkling, mirrors spotless & with no streaks, floor had nary a crumb, smelled fresh & clean thruout. Kudos to the housekeeping staff! AC was set & room was nice & cool while it was near 100 outside. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Request a mini suite for a few $$ more. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just got back from our stay at this location and I do have to say that we very very pleased. The staff was very helpful and courteous to us. the rooms were obviously updated and renovated, it was very decent and very nice. The free breakfast offered in the mornings was a plus as well. The location for us was excellant though you do need a car to get around Long Island. No problems with this hotel and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Several of us came to Stony Brook for a wedding, there are not many choices round here but the HIE turned out to be a good option.

Their car picked us up from the LIRR on time (and took us back when it was time to leave)
The room provided was as booked (with sofa bed) and was clean and roomy. Apparantly the sofa bed was not that comfy, but the beds were fine.

The extra facilities were appreciated, we had a couple of tennis games and enjoyed the breakfasts. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pool is clean and large. Playground, volleyball nets and nice stuff outside for kids. Free breakfast is nice. Needs a bit more variety with proteins. LOTS of carbs. Fitness room outdated and 2 items out of order. Very nice staff. Easy parking. Close to Port Jeff and Stony Brook. Micro and large fridge in room.

Room Tip: 2 queen beds very comfy. AC is loud in main floor windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My dad recommended this hotel because the hotel we always stay at were completed booked. We were very hesitant were pleasantly surprised. Hotel staff was courteous. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was clean and the beds were also clean and comfortable. The only issues we had were our shower head wasn't working correctly. No matter what we did the floor would get soaked after each shower. So we called for more towels clean up the water. The hotel was packed (including a large girls' lacrosse team and their families) so we knew that there was no chance of getting another room.The TV was old and too small for the room and the pool closed too early. You would have thought with the holiday weekend they would have extended it a least an 1/2 hour or so. The breakfast was free and adequate but there was definitely not enough tables and/or chairs to accommodate all their guests. We could have sat outside but it was raining. There is a small playground with a foutain and benches which we did not use as we were visiting family. So with the issues we had I felt we paid way to much for one night but all and all it was a nice stay. We'll come back only for if there's a better rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Address: 3131 Nesconset Highway, Stony Brook, NY 11720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook-Long Island offers 143 newly renovated guest rooms: standard kings, queens, two room suites, spa rooms, and handicap accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook - Long Island hotel is a designated non-smoking property. All rooms feature: flat screen plasma cable TVs w/HBO, CNN, ESPN, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet access, iPod docking stations and pay-per-view movies. Additional in-room amenities are: microwave/refrigerator unit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, & a coffee maker in every room. Our hotel meeting rooms can accommodate 100 people theater style, up to 80 banquet style and we offer use of our audio/visual equipment. All guests enjoy complimentary hot Continental buffet breakfast, 20X40 indoor heated pool and use of our fully equipped fitness center. Roll away beds are available at no additional charge. Children stay free and the hotel has a playground, and there are plenty of local attractions geared toward children. Our amenities include a putting green, horseshoe courts, and athletic fields with basketball, tennis, softball and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook Hotel Stony Brook
Holiday Inn Stony Brook
Stony Brook Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.