We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Setting on Staten Island, New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1120 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ankeny, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely Setting on Staten Island, New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Hampton Hotel on Staten Island is a very good place to stay. It is situated less than 30 minutes from the Newark International Airport and provides free access to Manhattan via the Staten Island Ferry. The Ferry ride is free and the view on the trip is fabulous of the New York City Skyline, the Statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island. The Hotel has a good continental breakfast and rooms are nice although the furniture is somewhat dated and in needs of updating. The Staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The Hotel is situated in a green strip area of Staten Island and is scenic and quiet. The rates are affordable for New York City with shopping and eateries close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Curt J,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island. We love when our guests enjoy their expience with us. We hope to see you real soon, when you decide to vist New York again.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    92
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
150
64
22
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall the hotel is very nice and they treat you well for being a honors member but I think the hotel housekeeping staff needs a refresher in making sure all aspects of the cleaning of the rooms is met. We did not get coffee replacement on both days and we were missing towels the last day we stayed. Minor housekeeping issues in the room but overall the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments you gave us on trip advisor we appreciate every guests that has things to say on how we can improve our Hotel. I have spoken to our housekeeping manager and she has assured me, we will make sur eall our guests amenties are replaced in a timely manner. Thank you again for also saying how much you enjoyred our Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This Hotel is our home away from Home. Its spotless clean...the staff is great and we Love it! We have stayed in other locations but were drawn back to this one based on the above reasons. They have a free shuttle to and from the Staten Island Ferry... a very nice Breakfact...24 Hr. coffee and Hot Chocalate....it is Safe and Comfy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, We like to make all our guests feel llike this a home away from home. We are glad you got to use all our ammenties we have to offer, Especially our complementary shuttle to ferry. Thank you again for you kind comments.


Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

we were visiting our daughter for family weekend at her college and were pleased to find such great accommodations. We've stayed at Hampton inn's before and are always pleased. The only complaint is the pillows were too soft, and.... Make sure you get to breakfast before 10 or you'll find everything cleaned up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel, we love when we get feedback from our guests. Yes breakfeast does open at 6am and closes at 10am, we do try to stay open a little late for our guest. As for our pillows we will look into geting firmer pillows for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again real soon.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My family was displaced by Hurricane Sandy, the 1st few weeks I bounced around because I could not find a hotel with any availability. By chance I was able to get a room for one night the weekend after Thanksgiving. When I got there I explained my situation to Robin (one of the managers), she couldn't guarantee me anything but said if anything opened up she would try to get me another night. Well she did, I actually wound up staying until February. Today is the 1 year anniversary of Sandy and I want to extend my deepest gratitude to the staff here. For the 3 months that I stayed in this hotel they were amazing. Friendly, helpful, supportive. The rooms were clean, the linens changed regularly, fresh towels whenever we needed them. Breakfast was delicious, the swimming pool was a plus, the Business center came in handy. I have no complaints whatsoever. They had their hands full dealing with so many displaced and out of town guests, and I know some were hard to deal with and yet they handled everything with a smile and grace. Being that I live on Staten Island I don't see the need to have to stay there again (unless there was some other emergency) but I would highly recommend this hotel to all. They made a very hard situation more bearable for my family. We were grateful to have a warm, cozy, clean place to lay our heads at night, without any added burdens, to wake up to a great breakfast or run down during the night for a quick cup of coffee or tea. Thank you to Robin, Jamarow, Ben and the rest of the staff there, including housekeeping, the breakfast staff, etc. Though Fema paid for the hotel stay the staff were the ones who provided the outstanding service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Theresa K,

Thank you for your kind comments during a very rough time for you last year. We are glad we meet your expectations during a hard time. We hope we put a little happiness in your heart during that time. Robin and the rest of our staff always go above and beyond for all our guests, and we are glad you got to see that first hand. Once again we hope you get to stay with us on a more happier occasion.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed one night pre-cruise Worked out perfect! Van (free) was on time for pick-up at Newark Liberty. Van service is also offered to Staten Island ferry, however, was not available for last minute trip. Taxi is about $18-20. Location is very restful and a park like setting. Rooms a bit dated, however, very clean. We walked across parking lot (300-400 yards) to companion property Hilton Garden Inn for an early dinner at Lorenzo's. Excellent and reasonable. Breakfast might all my expectations (fresh, hot and variety). Front desk staff was friendly and stored our luggage in "secure" back area (with claim tags) for our mid-afternoon departure to cruise port (again a free van was provided). Reservations for van service is made 3-4 weeks out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Albert B,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love that you enjoyed our sister property Hilton Garden Inn restaraunt Lorenzo's, our owners take great pride in making sure all of their guest stays are perfect. Once again thank you for your comments and hope you stay with us again.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I reserved 4 suites for 2 days for my daughter’s wedding. At the last minute, the hotel called me that there was no room available for the 1st day! It caused a huge damage to us. there was no one knows what happened in front desk and no one come to apologize.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Wei Z,

I apologize that our Hotel did not have four rooms for you, We had a group that extended and we offered to relocate you to another Hotel on your first night. We did not know it was a Wedding, we did offer to pay for first night and we gave your son in law discounts on all four rooms the next day. He declined the first night staying at another hotel, but kept the discounted next day. Sorry we know it was a special day for you. Please call me at 718 477-1600 so we can talk about the situation. Sorry for any inconvience this caused, we try and make every guest stay the most enjoyable it can be.

Regards,
Thomas A. Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Address: 1120 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.