We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1120 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was actually a nice place to stay in! I was concerned with the sketchy neighborhood that its located in, but the hotel itself is very nice. Its about 20 minutes away from the Staten Island ferry, which was very convenient to take to get to the Island of Manhattan. The only complaint is that I called down to the desk at around 9:30 asking for 2 extra towels, only to find that the housekeeping department was gone. The desk clerk told me to come down and get them from the desk. Surprised, because I was already in my pajamas, I walked down expecting there to be only one person at the desk that would limit them to bringing 2 towels up to the room. However, there were 2 people present, both looking at me as I walked down. Not a big deal, but because I work as a front desk receptionist I was expecting the same type of hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear hvmiller

I want to thank you for your review of our property and staff. I will make it a point to go over our front desk procedures to make sure our guest are recieving optimal service. You are absolutely right when there are more than one person at the desk we do our best to get requested items to guest as soon as possible. Unfortunately our housekeeping department leaves at 4pm so at that point the front desk is responsible to make sure the entire property is well looked after and running smoothly. Again I thank you for your review and we will focus our attention to the front desk making the right decisions.

Sincerely,
Jamarow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    85
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
138
54
18
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I typically stay in this hotel when I am in NY on business. It is one of the newer hotels on Staten Island and is pretty decent. However, I will add that their attention to detail when it comes to cleanliness is starting to relax a bit. Overall, the staff is always very friendly and efficient and this is a good business or family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Wisdom40

Thank you so much for your review. It is a pleasure to get this valuable feedback. We like to think we are the best option in Staten Island, so we must make sure that our service and cleanliness match our statement. I regret that you have seen our efforts slip a bit and I will most definitely inform our housekeeping department of your insight. Thank you for choosing to continually choose our property and staff to be your home away from home on your business trips.

Warm Regards,
Jamarow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night for a party. The hotel was nice and roomy and bathrooms were big. Located right off of highway by a few minutes. Next to other hotels. Breakfast was included and just the basics. The only bad part was some touch uP needed in the bathroom shower and they put a hold on credit card more than the room was worth if they are 90% booked. But it was my debit so I had no cash. They quickly removed the hold by making a few calls thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear emstraveler349

Thank you for your review. It is always good to get feedback from our guest on what we can do better. Unfortunately, our system goes out for authorization the day of check-in to insure that the rooms are accounted for. we do go out for room and tax plus a 35.00 dollar per day incidental charge. It is as simple as calling banks directly in times where funds need to be put back immediately, however this action is at the banks discretion. The funds we authorize however are just a hold, and we do not take payment until check-out so the form of payment can be switched at your discretion.

Thank you for choosing Staten Island's Hampton Inn & Suites

Warm Regards,
Jamarow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here last summer (June 2011) when we took a trip to NYC. We chose this because it had an awesome rate and we didn't want to pay to stay in the city. It isn't a long drive to drive to the Staten Island Ferry and then take that over to Manhattan. The rooms are very nice and we somehow ended up with a Handicapped room which made the room a lot larger. The hotel has a free breakfast which was quite good. There is a pool however we didn't get to use it because it has very limited hours. The hotel staff was extremenly nice and always ready to answer questions or help out with directions. Overall, I would definitly recommend staying here if you are thinking of going sightseeing in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the highway because it makes it a lot quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear PinkL0ver

Thank you for your recommendation and your kind words about our property. It is unfortunate that we are only able to provide the pool for the time specified. Due to New York City Law we cannot operate a commercial pool.without a lifeguard. Due to this we have our hours based on our most frequent guest, which happen to be for business purposes. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please let me know when you may be back with us and I will try and upgrade your room complimentary if available. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites, we hope to see you soon.

Best!
Jamarow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here a week and the room was great...the staff was wonderful, the breakfast was average. The parking is probably the best anywhere around. The location is excellent and if the 440 is backed up there is easy access to all areas north by surface streets. If I ever have to go to NYC again I would probably stay here. For NYC the rates are fair. I would suggest staying here and using the FREE Staten Island Ferry to go in to Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Steve P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were visiting New York. We try to stay competitive with our market here in New York, and believe we have the best rates. You may sacrifice in transportation but we hope that our service pulls everything together and makes your stay worth while. Thanks you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerly,
Jamarow Le Flore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel has exceeded my expections! The room was bright and the beds were extremely comfortable. The lobby was inviting with comfy couches and chairs. The free hot & cold continental breakfast had everything you could imagine including a waffle maker! A full business center and of course wonderful and helpful staff. Free Wifi, free morning newspaper and of course 24 hour fresh brewed coffee. Easy access to both 440 and 278 highways. They also offer a free shuttle to the SI Ferry terminal. Quiet area in the business park, world of chocolate factory next door! Small indoor poor with lovely outdoor patio area. Across the parking lot is the Hilton that has a restuarant (not for breakfast), a bar and sometimes entertainment.

Room Tip: the king suite had a great room configuration for our family since it had a sofa bed (very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Roxhound,

We want to thank you for your great review of our hotel and staff. We strive to make sure all our rooms are clean and welcoming. Making your stay feel like your home away from home.

Sincerely
Jamarow Le Flore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Spent two nights here during Bike New York. Room was well-sized and had good amenities - fridge, microwave, etc. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was extensive and excellent - I enjoyed it both mornings. My only complaint would be that my co-worker and I had asked for a cab to go out to dinner, and we were given a company to call ourselves - I feel that's something the front desk staff should be able to accommodate. However, I understand that Staten Island isn't Manhattan, and that the cab companies are more limited.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear AutumnBookOwl,

I really want to thank you for your comments and your stay at our property. I see that you enjoyed our amenities and rooms size. I sincerely regret that our staff did not offer to call you a cab service when requested. We do have cards to give our guest for their return trip but we do assist and call cabs for our guest, and I will make sure that our front desk agents are making sure that they are anticiapting needs or questioning on how to provide better service. Thank you so much for your stay and your comments we will do our best to have this corrected as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Jamarow Le Flore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Address: 1120 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday, Thursday, Friday pool hours are 5pm-10pm, Saturday, Sunday Pool hours are 9am-5pm, Tuesday, Wednesday - Pool Closed (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.