We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island to your Saves list
Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   92 Taylor Street, Staten Island, NY 10310   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience. The hostess was wonderful. Breakfast was great with the fresh fruit salad each morning and then the variety of food. The bed were so inviting after a lot of walking throughout city. This is a place we would definately revisit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Whilst it's all fine and dandy to stay in Manhattan, you will pay for the privilege. But why bother when you can stay somewhere unique as this?

Victorian's host, Danuta, is a gracious and helpful lady who made us feel very welcome inside this enormous house. Built in the 1840's, it is really testament to how craftsmanship and taste were the cornerstones of design and architecture. All the interior furnishings match and you immediately feel as if you've been transported back to that bygone era.

However, all the modern conveniences of our age are at your disposal within the spacious bedroom and en suite bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and there was no danger of low temperatures thanks to the old school style radiators that pumped out volumes of heat. I have noted one reviewer complained that the interior of the house was kept too hot. Danuta has probably made note of this as she showed us how to alter the temperature from the master control in the dining room. I'm glad she erred on the side of caution and decided to keep our room warm as toast, considering it was minus 8 degrees Celsius outside during our stay.

At the northern end of Taylor Street is the bus stop where frequent services will deposit you outside the ferry terminal within 15 minutes. From there you can ride the famed Staten Island ferry (free of charge) to Manhattan. Upon your return, the buses are normally timed to collect passengers from the ferry so ensure you're one of the first to disembark and make a beeline to the S40 bus.

Danuta's breakfast have earned their iconic status amongst previous reviewers. They are simply superlative. Every taste is catered for. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, English muffins, croissants, etc. Eggs, bacon or sausages will be offered as a matter of course. It is highly unlikely you'll need to eat until late afternoon. When you're ready to do so, Danuta will point you in the right direction.

Even a pizza lover such as myself can easily tire of Staten Island's famous "pies" - what the locals refer to as pizza. Especially if they are consumed on a regular basis! There are an abundance of pizza / Italian establishments on the island. But if you fancy something else, I'd recommend the Nurnberger Bierhaus (despite their unwillingness to take reservations for less than five people over the phone). We decided to risk it and do the "walk-in" and got a table. I shall probably review this restaurant separately.

Danuta, during her 30 year tenancy on Staten Island, knows her locale intimately and will ensure your stay is a special one. The area is quite compact and taxi rides won't cost more than $15 anywhere. No single cab we took seems to bother with the meter but the fares we were asked to pay were reasonable and on par. We walked the five minutes to the nearby supermarkets, delis and liquor stores on Castleton Avenue without dramas. The local residents we spoke to seemed pleasantly surprised that we had chosen Staten Island as our New York base. Being made to feel welcome is a trait embodied by practically everyone we met there during our 4 day stay.

You'll definitely leave the Victorian Bed & Breakfast with the fondest memories. The resident cat, Tomtom, is also a special character. His purr being reminiscent of a content pigeon. When I return to New York I will not hesitate to stay here again.

Thank you so much, Danuta, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There are only 2 bedrooms at this establishment. We stayed in the room on the top floor which had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

the negatives:
- a bit too far from the ferry, but the buses run just fine.
- a bit rough neighborhood but nothing too bad.

otherwise the house, the room and especially the breakfast was great. Danuta is a lovely host. she even helped us by driving us to our next B&B on Staten island (had to stay in two separate places because of the limited vacancy) and also gave us a tour of some parts of Staten island at the same time.

I would recommend this B&B to everyone and will use it again when I visit NYC the next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed three nights in august in this charming B&B.
The place is clean and the guest is ...top.
You will appreciate the breakfast and probably learn about staten island "gangster history".
The house is supposed to have welcomed some of them...a long time ago...
If you're with children, it's perfect (two rooms + kitchen & shared bathroom).
Staten island ferry is not so close (you need a car or you have to take a taxi; you will find them easily at the ferry terminal 5/8$), but if you like the bay you will appreciate the cruise two times a day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at this B&B in August. It is conveniently located for visiting New York City as the Staten Island Ferry is within easy reach. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast kept us going until well into the afternoon. The owner makes every effort to keep the guests happy. If we visit NYC again, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the top floor are ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the beautiful b&b. The inn-keeper, Danuta is a lovely friendly lady who goes out of her way to please her guests. We stayed on the top floor of this 1850's Victorian home and it was just perfect. The room even has a sun room attached. The area is very safe and quiet.
Breakfast is superb and Danuta will meet your meal preferences as much as possible. It was great chatting to Danuta over breakfast and getting to know NYC from a local who has been in the area for many years.
We felt very comfortable at this b&b and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The house interior furnishings were lovely and the breakfast was good.
The main problem is that the owner keeps the house HOT and does not try to cool it down even with window AC units. Absurd especially in the summer when guests are trying to escape the heat. When we arrived it was almost 10 p.m., and our room was 100 degrees! If you know you have guests coming and they are paying over $100.00 a night, the least you can do is cool the room down. It took us most of the night for one small window AC unit and sleeping on top of the sheets to sleep comfortably. Because it was so hot during the day, we left the one window AC unit on in our room so the room would stay cool only to return to find out the owner turned it off during the day (probably when the bed was made) and so when we returned again that night our room was sweltering. Keep in mind this is how she keeps the entire house. The bathroom was also hot. Very uncomfortable to use the toilet when you sweat while sitting on the seat and when you get out of the shower, you are no better off. When we went down for breakfast, after one cup of hot tea, we were breaking out in a sweat and sticking to the chairs.
Maybe everyone else who left rave reviews really LOVE to sweat or maybe they went in the cooler months, but for the price you pay for a room, the least the owner could do is make the interior temperature tolerable. Terrible to make paying guests sweat like that.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a windoew AC unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Address: 92 Taylor Street, Staten Island, NY 10310
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant house is located on the North Shore of Staten Islanmd,in the town of West New Brighton,a "restorative country place one of New York City most agreeable suburbs" as quoted by mid 19 th century contemporaries.Only 17 minutes by the city bus to famous Staten Island Ferry and attraction of Manhattan beconing beyond.This fine Italianette Villa,dating back to 1847 is crowned with a cupola and has marble fireplace mantles in every room.Original victorian decore includes mirrors paintings and some furniture that are original to the house.There are four bedrooms and two bath.One of bedrooms is a suite with two rooms to accommodate three persons.Guest will enjoy full breakfast.Tv in the living room. Free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.