We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian cuisine par excellence!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Romana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trattoria Romana
1476 Hylan Blvd, Staten Island, NY 10305-1923
718-980-3113
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 724 Restaurants in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian cuisine par excellence!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

As an someone of Italian descent who has a pretty refined palate, I think Trattoria is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever dined at. The food is always super fresh, and cooked with passion under the leadership of chef-owner Vittorio. The staff is friendly and quite helpful. No matter what you order, either from the regular menu or from the long list of specials, you simply cannot go wrong.

We dine there regularly, and have never been disappointed. Bravo, Chef Vittorio on creating the beat Italian restaurant on Staten Island, and perhaps in all of NYC!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This has been our favorite restaurant on SI for years. We loved it when it was small and watched it expand into the vacant bakery next door.
Food is always excellent although it can be pricey. The specials have no prices listed so expect them to be $25 and up.

Lately it hasn't been as friendly as in the past. They seem to know they are good and aren't concerned with friendliness.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times as a guest of a friend. I have always found the food fresh & tasty. The food is not your "spaghetti & meatballs" fare as in other Italian restaurants. The food is different than other places & if you have an adventurous palate, I recommend this place. I have had fish, chicken & steak here & have never been disappointed. The desserts are to die for. An espresso or latte at the end of your meal tops off the experience. The wait staff is friendly & professional. They can explain how your meal is prepared & make suggestions if you want a food item prepared in a particular way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is beyond excellent. It is a very lively restaurant, a fun upbeat atmosphere. The owner/chef comes around & chats with diners. One time they had two strolling violinists - they were 2 lovely sisters. The only down side is that there really is no waiting area/bar to sit at while waiting to be seated, unless the weather is nice, then you can wait outside. One time it was raining and we waited in our car & they called us on cell phone when table was ready. One of my favorite places to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a repasse for my uncle and owner Vittorio and staff did an excellent job. Must try the risotto alla piemontese. Excellent, fresh food and an offering of specials with in season ingredients.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Romana also viewed

Staten Island, NY
 
Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.