We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Italian Ice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ralph's Ices

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ralph's Ices
501 Port Richmond Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10302
718-273-3675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 710 Restaurants in Staten Island
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This italian ice shop is really great! The ice is always delicious. It's right across the street from Denino's Pizzeria, a great pizza place where you an have dinner, and then walk over to Ralph's for some dessert. Just make sure to expect about a 5 minute wait since there's always a line of people waiting to get ice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ices like they used to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The wide variety of ices will make you think long and hard about which one you want. But the good news is, you can't really make a mistake. From the common to the unusual flavors, I've yet to find one that disappointed! ENJOY!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Classic Dessert Stop. A Must Have During the Summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ralph's Ices is a Staten Island hot spot during the warm weather months. The original location in Port Richmond has created lines since its earliest days of operation and still manages to draw major crowds. Since its inception, Ralph's has expanded with several units throughout Staten Island as well as a widespread selection in New Jersey, Long Island and throughout other areas of New York. For years, my go to shop has been the Hylan Boulevard location by Armstrong Avenue in Eltingville. Not only is this Ralph's extremely close to where I live, but I've found the lines to be consistently short compared to other ones on Staten Island.

The selections of Ralph’s homemade ices are beyond varied. There is literally something for everyone on the mile long list of selections. The list is broken down into two main categories, water based flavors and cream ices which contain dairy. I generally have five or six favorites that I will consistently choose from, although I'll deviate from the norm occasionally. The classic flavor remains to be Lemon, which I believe was the only choice when Ralph's first opened. There is also a wide range of ice cream flavors to choose from, as well as frozen drink choices which I often see people order while I'm there.

As far as the service goes at Ralph's, it's pretty simple and does not require an insane amount of effort. For the most part, the people taking the orders and delivering the ices are teenagers working summer jobs. I can't speak for all of the shops on the island, but the Hylan Boulevard location in Eltingville have some pleasant and competent kids working the counter. I always toss a couple bucks in their tip jar, I would advise others to do the same as they do work hard and could use the support.

To sum it up, Ralph's is a definite must visit. I believe it opens for the season as early as late March and remains so until mid October. I'm good for twenty plus visits each season, and never become tired of it. If you’re a local Staten Islander and have not been to Ralph's at least once then shame on you; be sure to get yourself there. For those visiting town, do not miss out, these are some of the best ices you'll ever enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Addicted to the ices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have to admit, it took me awhile to love their ices, moving here from Brooklyn more than 2 decades ago, but after going a few times, I was hooked. There is a flavor for everyone here. You look at the listing, and say "what do I want to try today?". Yes, there are times where it is a little hard to park, and the lines can be quite long on a hot summer's night, but there is no other ice than compares. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating, is their staff. I know there are teens on waiting lists to get jobs here, so I can't understand why the unfriendly ones are the ones that ultimately get hired. So definitely go for their ices, but do not expect a smile and a "Welcome to Ralphs!"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph's Ices also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Ralph's Ices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralph's Ices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.