We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Metro Diner, More of a Restaurant than a Diner though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z-One Restaurant

Z-One Restaurant
1821 Richmond Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314
718-494-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 653 Restaurants in Staten Island
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Metro Diner, More of a Restaurant than a Diner though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I met a friend in Staten Island, and he suggested we meet at Z-One. When you walk in, you get the feeling that this is more than a diner. It was Sunday afternoon, and extremely busy. Most of the servers and greeters are young women, probably from the college around the corner. veryone is smiling and generally happy. The booths are large, and plenty of room, which is unusual for a diner. Normally they try to put as many table as they can cram into the space. Also, the booths are LARGE, which is nice to spread things out on. The outdoor seating was full. It was a nice day, and everyone wanted to sit outside.

The food is interesting. They have the old standards-burgers, sides, salads, etc. They also have some dishes that I have never seen before, or are unusual for a diner, like avacoado spring rolls, bison burgers, etc. Quite good, actually. But, the portions are quite large, and if you finish, you will walk away full. The service is a bit slow. And if you try to contact another server who does not handle your table, she will ignore you just like the true New Yorker does. I saw this happen to 3 people, besides us. Our server came around once n a while, but not much.

But, the food is quite good, and the prices are exactly what you would expect. $ 10 for a burger, plus extra for the fixings. If you don't mind taking some home, the value is good. But, if you are not a "doggie bag" person, then it takes a lot to get value from the meal. You had better be hungry.

Hint: Look for a table on the sides. I saw a lot of people bumping into tables in the center, or sliding sideways between tables. I personally do not like someones butt on my table while I am eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, consistent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Z One's food is decent but the emnu is way too big- overwhelming even. the dining room gets very loud, so you'll want to steer clear if you have a hard of hearing person or child with you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not so nice breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is not famous for it's breakfast. I have eaten there for lunch and diner and I have to say, the food was great. So, I tried the breakfast menu and was profoundly disappointed.
This place is beautifully laid out. I did like the fact that the manager wanted his staff to eat before working. I think that is a good practice. The staff was eating in shifts and the the tables were taken care of. The thing I didn't like was seeing the cook come out of the back and get something to drink. If you come out of the back you should be in a uniform. White pants,shirt, apron etc. The man came out of the back with ratty shorts, dirty sneakers and slob for a lack of a better word.
My fiancé had the oatmeal. She really liked it. I had the works; pancakes with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and ham. I am a bacon expert. bacon should be baked or fried on a pan not fried in a deep fryer. The bacon tasted like the deep fryer and was beyond dry. the pancakes were hard on top and soft on the bottom. No taste, yuk!. God only knows what that sausage was.
I would not recommend this place for breakfast but lunch and diner are very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostess seats you promptly and fulfills your seating preference. The menu is varied, and the lunch specials are a great value - including soup, entree, dessert and coffee. Plan on taking a doggy bag home. Service is prompt, attentive , and polite. The place always looks spotlessly clean and cheerful. Have never had a bad experience. Free Italian cookies at the cashier stand is a nice finishing touch. Recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great late night food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Z one. Great steak for a good price. They serve your classic diner food and some good special. Nice bar separate from dinning section. Service is good, place is clean. Great place for late night dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z-One Restaurant also viewed

Staten Island, NY
 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Z-One Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z-One Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.