We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Many Garden Inn Properties - Probably one of the Worst!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Weekend
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed at Many Garden Inn Properties - Probably one of the Worst!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this property because of a meeting - was not at all impressed by the fact that the front desk could not grasp the concept of paying "cash" and demanded a debit card (somebody else had a similar incident in a previous review) - I told her explictly that that I wanted no extra holds on it and she said there would not be - upon pulling up my bank acct - I found an extra hold on my funds - I called down to the front desk, and another person was there and said they "would call the bank" - right away which of course did not fix the problem. The room was stuffy hot and no matter how much I fussed with the thermostat, it was a classic fail. The restaurant was okay - but the selection was full of carbs and fat - nothing for a gluten free diet or somebody watching their weight.

Bottom line - I'll stay somewhere else next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sgrosvenor,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that you found our policy for an incidentals hold was inconvenient. Your comments will help us to improve our policies and better serve our guests in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again and promise to offer you a 100% satisfaction guaranteed.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    137
    62
    41
    31
See reviews for
172
136
50
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I had to stay here last moment due to a change in travel plans. We had one set of winter clothes, no toiletries or food. Since the moment we checked in we had the most amazing service! Elizabeth, the housekeeper always offered extra help and remembered the extra items I asked for when cleaning my room. Patrick at the front desk faxed paperwork, got me coffee, and and extremely attentive every time he saw me. Randy let me use his office computer to print some important documents when the business center wasn't able to open them. Everyone went above and beyond, more than I would have ever imagined. Incredibly clean hotel, obviously I think all staff is amazing, and just a wonderful experience while going through the amount of travel stress possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Heather5911,

We're so happy to hear that your experience was "amazing." We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff so it's great to hear that they were able to enhance your stay! Thank you for taking the time to appreciate our little extras and the team that works so hard to make sure all of our guests have an "amazing" experience.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would stay again next time I'm in STATEN ISLAND, N.Y
Because it's close to the EXPRESSWAY, RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS.
It's a little pricey for Staten Island, But customer service is good and they are very friendly.
Their buffet breakfast could be better, they had the same breakfast every morning. They should have menu breakfast for the customer's that don't like buffet style.
All in All it was a okay stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Maryh08,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will return to us in the future, and when you do please remind us of your preference for breakfast. Hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is an excellent hotel (and I have stayed in over 70 Hiltons worldwide) the service was attentive but not intrusive, rooms were lovely and all of the staff were really friendly. The owner introduced himself and his wife to us one evening and was a very charming host.
The breakfast chef is a real character and he made me superb omellet and put a smile on my face each morning.
Keep up the excellent work team and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Joe M,


Thank you very much for your kind words about our service. It is with your comments/reviews that we know we have done a great job in serving our guests.

Mr. & Mrs. Nicotra are very charming and always there to welcome guests. They are on property to help and serve guests when needed.

We will make sure that your wonderful comments about our staff, especially the breakfast chef will be known to them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we are happy to know that you'll be staying with us the next time you visit Staten Island.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's New York - you should expect less in this price category hotel. Rooms are resonably clean. Restaurant is reasonably good. Beds are reasonably comfortable.
There is nothing exceptional about this property, but you can expect a decent stay,as long as that stay isn't too long. Not much else to say. This is our go to hotel when we are forced to visit SI.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Robfd,

We would like to thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to serve guests that are visiting Staten Island and we are glad that we are your preferred hotel when visiting.

Hope we get to see you again on your next visit to the area. We value your review and grateful for taking the time to let us know how your stay was.


Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The customer service has been great. The room is clean and very modern. However, the walls are paper thin. This hotel accepts dogs. I have slept with ear plugs for the last two nights. I am sure this must be what it is like to sleep in a kennel. Additionally, last night I could hear every detail of my neighbors conversation. And they were not talking in overly loud voices. I would probably stay at the Hampton next door in the future. The wasn't as nice, but it was quieter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Lightbydesign,

Thank you for staying with us and for having the time to leave us a review.

We sincerely apologize that you didn't have a good stay with us. We understand your frustration with the noise disturbance and apologize it prevented you from getting the good night rest you deserve.

We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly work to improve our guest satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve the next time you travel in our area.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed 3 night in the fall and attended my nephew's wedding and then reception at the hotel.
The property was just about to open another addition which would double it's size. We arrive late and the front desk was very friendly . Upon entering our room it was very warm because of no fan being on . A call to the front desk and our room was changed promptly.
The reception was beautiful . One room for Cocktails and appetizers then lead into the dinning room for a seven course meal at the conclusion we went back to the reception area for an unbelievable dessert feast.
It is the happening place in Staten Island. Wonderful experience, shuttle service to the Ferry.
I would go back in a second.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the back ,great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island

Address: 1100 South Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hilton Staten Island
Staten Island Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.