We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a shame and a pity for this tragedy to happen at all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puglia by the Sea

Puglia by the Sea
750 Barclay Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10312
(718) 605-6009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #365 of 710 Restaurants in Staten Island
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“its a shame and a pity for this tragedy to happen at all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

this restaurant hardly there even one year, was practically destroyed by the last hurricane its a shame.Awful.the big glass windows and heavy wooden framing are all gone in fact so is their party roo,m the only thing left standing was the bar and the kitchen.My heart breaks for Debbie the owner of this magnificent restaurant. I met her once or twice and her lovely daughter such very nice people. God Bless them and help them. Amen. I hope they can rebuild but who knows I hear through the grapevile the city of new york is going to take over all the shore line on the south side of staten island, may be rumor but usually rumor turns out to be fact on this island. we shall see.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went there early on a Saturday for dinner with friends. The staff was very attentive and the food was delish. The prices were normal for an Italian Restaurant. Try the White Sangria by the pitcher.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What Can I Say But Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Puglia by the Sea gave me the worst service that I have ever experienced. I waited 45 minutes for my order and the food was mediocre and the portions were small. The experience was pricey, but miserable. There are many good restaurants on Staten Island, but Puglia is not one of them. Stay Away!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Nothing has changed except the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ok so 4 of us went to dinner on Monday evening the view was beautiful. The restaurant had a approx 25 to 30 people . The service was not good the food was ok but not worth the money .
This place has a beautiful view but they need to get better wait staff or better cooks as they are both to slow .Some of the food was cold in the center ( rice ball with sauce and ricotta cheese on top cold in the middle) . They could not even get the order right for a reg Monday night the service should have been much better . When we arrived they were people that had been there for a while who had been already served so the waiting for a almost an hour for just appetizers is unheard of . So same wait staff different view same food different view . This is my last visit to this restaurant . So many other places to eat out in Staten Island . Don't waste your time waiting for overpriced cold food and poor service go somewhere else . You will have had better food and probably saved money ,,,,,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When they moved in the old Camen's Restaurant the owner's renovated the whole restaurant. Tastefully done. Nice to look at the ocean. Went there for dinner with my husband Saturday night. Very noisy, very crowded. No problem with service. The gravy is good but not excellent. Large portions of food. Will go back earlier than 6:30.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puglia by the Sea also viewed

Staten Island, NY
Staten Island, NY
 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Puglia by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puglia by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.