We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Harbor House to your Saves list
The Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Hylan Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10305   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed at the Harbor House on weekend in New York in November. After reading previous reviews I was a little worried about what we might find but for the price the b&b was great. We had a double room with shared bathroom which wasn't a worry as we never had to wait for the bathroom to become free. The b&b was quiet and clean and real value for money.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
44
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcs.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

We had a fantastic time at the Harbor House at the end of October. I was a little concerned about what it might be like because of an earlier review, but we needn't have worried.
We had a lovely greeting from Molly who made sure we had all the information we needed to enjoy our stay - where to get bus tickets, times of trains and ferries, guide book etc.
Our room overlooked the water and we could lie in bed and watch boats coming backwards and forwards. It was very relaxing, yet Manhattan was only 45 minutes away by bus and ferry.
If you want a 5* building, then stay in Manhattan. If you want a value for money ,enjoyable time then Harbor House is well worth considering. We went to New York as a 'one off' but are hooked and will certainly be going back.

  • Liked — The fantistic views and the value for money
  • Disliked — Minor repairs needed to building
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

We had to be in Staten Island for a family wedding and we didn't want to spend a fortune for a hotel. We found this B&B online and thought, for one night how bad can it be? What a pleasant surprise it was. We had the Verrazano suite, which has a roomy bedroom, a cozy little sitting area, a private bathroom and the most magnificent view of New York! Although everything is a little rundown, its still very comfortable and a great value for the price. The breakfast was simple but quite adequate and our fellow guests were interesting and delightful. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it for anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodations in New York.

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Disliked — Furniture is a little rundown
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Harbor House in SI 2 1/2 yrs ago while in town for a wedding.
We absolutely loved it! The room we were in had a great view of the harbor, easy access to the ferry port, the area is in a kind of downtown-ish area so there was quite a bit to do.
The only downside is the hosts didn't speak english well so they cannot carry on a conversation and don't recommend anything or even say much when you see them.
In fact, you rarely do see them, which in a way is nice but it also would be nice to know you have them there if need be.
the breakfast was not so good. Not taste wise but it was more like a continental breakfast and we didn't even bother. It even ends at 8am so even if you want the breakfast you gotta get down there bright and early!
it was cheap pastries and tea and coffee. literally all cleaned up as if it never existed by 8 am sharp.
I would 100% recommend this place to singles, honey-mooners and anniversary-ers. Not a family or older couple though. This place is more for people who are here to see and be out and about with the plus of having a nice place to lay your head.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — abscense of hosts, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

...unless you really are on a very low budget. The place is really a a dump and we are sure our bed had bugs in it. We found two dead ones, all red and bloated on two mornings, IN THE BED! My wife freaked. Plus we must agree with the review from Stephi Lincoln in Philie lower down, the attitude sucks when you ask about your bill, however polite you are. We asked what all the extra charges were for when signing in, but could not get a clear answer apart from a wave towards a certificate on the wall! We asked again but not until finally leaving, fearing the same issue Stephi seemed to have during her stay. Again, even with a pen and calculator Molly could not explain, she simply took an email address and said it would be sorted. I was not contacted by them and after 3 polite emails in a week from me, (and after I had checked the US tax system out!) I finally got a reply and he agreed a small refund. But only after I contacted my Visa company to hold any payment due to a dispute and added this to my third email. Note that Molly is just an underpaid and overworked employee. She knows little and is most insecure and quiet, almost unfriendly. A little unnerving really. The rooms are old and the whole place needs a refurbishment to creaking old uneven floors, very old bathrooms etc etc. And did I mention the bugs in the bedrooms? We found another type dead on the floor, like a big earwig thing!!! Plus its a long way by bus and boat to Manhattan. Quite tiring as yoy really cannot get back to your room during the day as its about 90 mins round trip. So you are out all day and evening really which is not good and you should try and pay axtra for a Manhattan base. And did I mention the bugs outside...HUGE wasp or hornet type things that are nesting by the front door in a bush. They buzz constantly around (in Summer) and you have to run the gauntlet to get in and out. About size of your little finger, seriously. Yet they do nothing about this. To sum up, its a money grabbing exercise by the owner who is hidden in the background somewhere, who will keep trading it until its just so bad no-one comes. Then it will be demolished . This is quite near now I think. And did I mention the bugs...

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The hotel !
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

I came to Staten Island to visit friends, and happened across this place on the interent. For New York, its a good deal, as many places are overpriced. The view of the Harbor can't be beat, and if city life can overwhelm you at times, its a great place to be able to see New York and have a peaceful place to return to.

Customer service is not always the greatest here however. During my stay I often felt like I was inconveniencing the manager of the bed and breakfast.

My other complaint is that the breakfast was extremely basic during my stay that I did not even bother with it after the first day.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

Great view, great location. In a quiet and safe residential neighborhood (quiet by NYC standards). A quick bus or train ride and then the SI ferry puts you in downtown Manhattan. I found the place to be very clean and well maintained, and Molly was a wonderful hostess. Breakfast was always a very social event with all the visiting foreigners, who all seemed to be enjoying their stay as well. For affordable lodging in NYC, this is a great deal. BONUS: a diner and liquor store are just a short walk up the street.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House

Address: 1 Hylan Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10305
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the New York Harbor with a stunning view of the Manhattan Skyline as well as the Verrazano Bridge. The NYC marathon starts at the base of the Verrazano Bridge on the Staten Island. It is a 15 minute walk from the Harbor House Bed and Breakfast to the starting line of the race. There is a bus (the S 51)one block away that stops at the St. George Ferry Terminal. You can ride the ferry for free and arrive in downtown Manhattan in 20 minutes. It is a short walk to Ground Zero from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.