We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Harbor House to your Saves list
The Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Hylan Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10305   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Harbor House on Staten Iceland is a really good tip! Amazing views, friendly service, clean rooms. The breakfast is not that great, but at this low price, you can see over it! Mr. Noushad is very helpful and always friendly! In another visit to NYC we will book at Harbor House, it is incredibly great! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
43
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ignore previous negative reviews from last year - the place is undergoing step by step renovations and the new management is a breath of fresh air. Moe the new manager was hospitable, accomodating, and just what this place needed. I stayed here once before and swore I wouldn't come back (very poor service in the past) but really loved the views so I figured I would try one more time in August. So glad I did and now I'll be back every year for my annual NYC trip. I loved unwinding on the porch, listening to the ocean and just drinking a glass of wine while I watched the ships pass back and forth on the harbor. The place is clean, cozy, inexpensive, nothing fancy - just a little slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms - they are a bit more $ but worth the little extra if you like waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was looking for somewhere close to Wagner College and found this charming B@B right on the waters edge with the best views in NY and being adjacent to Alice Austin house gives it a park like surround.The new manager went out of his way to accomodate my needs and with some new updates on the cards, the place will start to fill up very quickly.Access to Sth.Beach and the SI Ferry is 10 min either way on the S51 bus which is cheap and very frequent for service.My room,although small was just what I needed and the view while lying in bed cannot be beaten.The manager Moe, has started some refurbishment which will in time make this abode a must to visit,and for those visiting from Australia. cricket coverage and a cold beer are readily accommodated .I look forward to returning each year to visit my son at Wagner,and I will be rebooking at The Harbor House each time.

Room Tip: Get a bus map and a weekly Metro Card from corner store.Nice little Tavern 5 min walk along Bay St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Harbor House B&B on Staten Island is a superb place to stay and visit NY. The Staff and the management is very friendly and always helpful. The new manager Moe is a brilliant guy who helps all times and he can give you helpful advises and hints. We could recommend the shuttle service by Moe from and to the Airport.

The rooms and the breakfast are plain and good, 5 minutes walk to the bus to Staten Island Ferry. the Ferry pass the Statue of Liberty anfd Ellis Island. Absolute gorgeous .... !!!

If you like a good, nice and friendly B&B with a top view to Big Apple and the Verrazano Bridge and a top B&B management for a fair price visit the Harbour House Hotel.

We enjoyed our stay there ....... absolute lovely !!!

Regards Kai & Carsten

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Harbor House is an excellent place to stay. This bed and breakfast is as of recently under new management, so you should ignore the prior to 2012 reviews about poor service.

I recently had a wedding at the Alice Austen House Museum which is directly across the street from the Harbor House and many of my family members stayed there. The current management, Moe and his family, went above and beyond being accommodating. They was very helpful and nice. It was the perfect place for our loved ones to stay.

From the Harbor House, you have beautiful views of Manhattan, the Verrazano Bridge and New York harbor. Its a very peaceful and romantic place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Harbor House. Pros:

1. Great location! Right on the water - absolutely stunning view of Manhattan. Also located near a major road, so there is access to great restaurants and dining options. Additionally, it's adjacent to the Alice Austen house, which has beautiful gardens to explore
2. Friendly staff that always greet you in the morning and try to be helpful
3. Nice rooms - I stayed in a two room suite with an in-room bathroom. It was very clean and had a charming feel. The large windows gave me a wonderful ocean view
4. The breakfast is small but sufficient (coffee, cereal, juice, pastries)
5. Great price

The only con is that the room was rather warm (I stayed during the heat of the summer). The room included an AC so it was fine in the end (just took awhile for the room to cool down).

Also, a few of the other reviews mention that the Harbor House does not provide towels/soap - this is no longer the case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to spend one night outside Manhattan to relax from our 6-day NYC vacation :-) and to spend a day on the beach. We found this B&B on the internet and were quite happy with our choice.

- The view on Manhattan and the bay is really incredible
- It is only 10-minute by bus (s51 line) to the family-beach South beach, which features a 2-mile boardwalk with free wifi access
- Historical sites like Fort Wadsworth and the Alice Austen House are in walking distance

The area is suburban and residential and seemed to be safe to us. You also find some restaurants close by. We went to a Cajun restaurant, which was great. You can reach Manhattan within an hour (bus and ferry, which both operate 24/7).

Our room was nice, with harbor view, but lacked some refreshments (new paint, new carpet). A new manager recently took over and is in the process of remakong the rooms.

The staff was very friendly, the manager even gave us a ride to the beach. Breakfast was simple but nice, with orange juice, tea and coffee, cornflakes, and bred and jam.

We were happy that we found this location and we enjoyed our stay away from bustling downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House

Address: 1 Hylan Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10305
Location: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the New York Harbor with a stunning view of the Manhattan Skyline as well as the Verrazano Bridge. The NYC marathon starts at the base of the Verrazano Bridge on the Staten Island. It is a 15 minute walk from the Harbor House Bed and Breakfast to the starting line of the race. There is a bus (the S 51)one block away that stops at the St. George Ferry Terminal. You can ride the ferry for free and arrive in downtown Manhattan in 20 minutes. It is a short walk to Ground Zero from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.