We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope you don't find it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lee's Tavern

Lee's Tavern
60 Hancock St, Staten Island, NY 10305-1243
718-667-9749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 709 Restaurants in Staten Island
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“I hope you don't find it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

When was the last time you heard of a place that does not advertise and doesn't even have their name outside but is almost always packed? The pizza here is the absolute best on Staten Island and has been for at least the 25+ years I have been going. Yes it's called Lee's TAVERN, but go inside and you'll see kids, grandparents, and every other facet of Staten Island enjoying the pizza.

The white clam pie has been my favorite since day 1 and I have never found one that comes close.

Best kept secret on Staten Island...and I hope it stays that way.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Bar Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lee's was voted best pizza on Staten Island. WRONG!! There are dozens of pizzeria's on Staten Island that are better. Not that it isn't good but not the best. And the pies are small. Someone with a decent appetite can eat their large pie easily. I've done it. The other food on the menu is good and they get very crowded on weekends. So get there early

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little bar with good food and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A neat little find we really enjoyed. Meatball pizza was amazing. Thin crust like Italy! Um, yum! Pesto was delicious to. $20 for pizza, appetizer and sodas!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thin crust bar clam pie that everyone raves about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Old corner bar ambience, crowde for tables and a backroom for "larger groups" Not fancy, although we have the Female Family Reunion here every year and it never disappoints (except me since the wine meu consists of Bolla Red or white- but you don't come here for wine! you come for good beer and drinks and a very decent pie, If that's all you want- and maybe a fried calamari- this is the place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love this pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lee's is a little hole in the wall bar that serves up some of the best pizza in the area. Its not your typical pizza you will find in the pizzerias around Staten Island and Bklyn. Its thin crusted and so delicious.

I've heard people say they were turned off when they approached the place, but that is because this looks like a small bar from the outside. For the most part inside is small with a bar, some tv's and some tables, but do not get turned off. Its very casual and laid back, don't go there dressed up. Just go there to have some beer and some great pizza-maybe catch a game.

They weren't taking credit cards the last I heard, cash only.
Gets crowded on the weekends and at night, get there early.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Tavern also viewed

 
Staten Island, NY
 

Been to Lee's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.