We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heron Suites to your Saves list
Heron Suites
61600 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family recently visited the North Fork and fell in love wit the Heron Suites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are clean and spacious. Close to shops and many restaurants, rented a car from Hertz at neighboring property. Would reccomend to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are very happy with our remodel and love to hear that others like it as well. So glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while out on the North Fork. Please be sure to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently traveled to Long Island with a group of 4 friends to go wine tasting. We stayed at The Heron Suites, and had a amazing time. The front desk staff helped us set up a wine tour and even had a great dinner recommendation. The Heron Suites is super close to the wineries and a cute little town called Greenport that has lots of shops and restaurants. Our room was new, clean and big enough to sleep all 4 of us. Loved the quaint seating area on the waters edge where we enjoyed even more LI wine! Looking to make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Heron Suites. We are thrilled your that group took our recommendation and went on a wine tour. There are so many great wineries and restaurants in the area, you can’t go wrong! We look forward to being part of your yearly trip and introducing to you more of our favorite NF places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I came out this past weekend and attended the Open House at POE and Heron Suites. What a amazing job they did on the remodel. Our room was was bright, clean and spacious. The lobby is gorgeous, hard wood floors and great bay views. Excited to come back this summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are so glad you took the time to attend our open house; it was so exciting to see everyone’s reaction to our remodel. Please make sure to come and stay again now that the weather is finally warming up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We try to come to LI wine country at least once a year and we almost always stay here. The staff is super friendly and it is so close to Greenport.

It's not super luxurious like the W hotel but it is clean and the rooms are pretty big with kitchen and separate living room. Definitely will come stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property The Heron Suites. We appreciate your feedback and are excited to have you as a repeat guest to our suites. We look forward to having you stay again, perhaps a summer visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything was very pleasant. Even under renovations the rooms were very quiet and clean. My family and I are very eager to come back in the summer to stay in one of the many larger suites. Also my kids are looking forward to swimming in the pool, playing on the playground and walking the docks, and possibly renting a kayak.

Strongly recommend this hotel for families and singles!!!! Beautiful new water front room for wedding brunches or rehearsal dinners or whatever your heart desires!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Heron Suites. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us over the holidays and value your patience with regards to our renovation. We look forward to hosting your family again and hope you come back soon to enjoy all our property has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Admiral Suite with another couple and the living/dining/kitchen facility is comfortable for four. It is nice that each couple has its own private bedroom and bathroom suite. The location on the Port of Egypt marina with its many boats and the water view is so enjoyable. The location is close to Greenport and many wineries on the wine trail are close by. We have stayed here several times and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Heron Suites. We are happy to have been chosen for your recent trip. Be sure to think of us again for your next visit out east!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Most recent time I stayed here, was out in LI for a wedding - Suite is super super clean, roomy and comfortable. Has a full kitchen and living room and bedroom, 2 TVs with cable - basically like staying in a house with all the amenities. Great pool on site. Close to town and wherever you're going. Over all, always a great experience at the Heron Suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeronSuites, Manager at Heron Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Heron Suites. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us while attending a wedding in the area. We hope to have a chance to host you again so, please keep us in mind for your next outing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Suites

Address: 61600 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The difference is in the details... Ideally located dockside in Southold, and part of the landmark family-owned Port of Egypt Marina, we invite you to experience all we have to offer. Heron Suites presents 17 well appointed and modernized suites with all the comforts of home plus access to the beautiful, natural surroundings of the North Fork. We offer 12 one-bedroom "First Mate Suites", 4 two-bedroom Captains Quarter's Suites, and our Admiral's Suites is a two-bedroom and two-bathroom handicap accessible unit. Each oversized suite conveniently features a full kitchen. Our friendly room decor is a welcome retreat in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Southold
Heron Harbor Hotel
Heron Suites Southold, North Fork, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.