We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proposal To My Now Fiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The North Fork Table & Inn

The North Fork Table & Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The North Fork Table & Inn
Save
You added The North Fork Table & Inn to your Saves list
57225 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971-4704 (Formerly Coeur des Vignes L'Hotel & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southold
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Proposal To My Now Fiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked a night here at the inn and had dinner on October 8th, our 3 year anniversary together. I was looking for a place away from the city and decided to come here based on reviews. Let me just say dinner was absolutely awesome! Great food and great service! Two of our friends also joined us and they were quite impressed as well. The dessert was right on and left us dreaming for more the next few days and still as I write this review. Right after dinner we stepped outside and of course that's when I popped the question, and she said yes. Next morning we woke up to some amazing scones and Quiche! ; ) Thank you North Fork you will remain forever in our hearts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is my third time dining in 4 years as I live no where near LI. I was so looking forward to this meal and in fact planned my trip around it. The martini was very nice and the tiny toast bites they give once you have ordered were yummy. I had the Thai soup for appetizer and it was delicious but no where did it say coconut or coconut milk on the menu. This was the highlight of the meal (not counting dessert...read on). I had the sea bass as recommended by the server. It was spiced with too much salt. An amature spice if you ask me for this restaurant. The eggplant and tomato "three ways" was not good. I could have made everyone at home and none thrilled me. At a restaurant like this I want to taste every flavor and this entree really fell down. On the other hand the desserts were amazing. Tapioca with passion fruit sorbet and coconut and also the chocolate dessert. Each were amazing in their own way. Maybe the sous and pastry chefs should get together and oust the chef. I am now over the North Fork Table and Inn, too bad you can't go for ala carte dessert.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

the restaurant was superb! foodand service was excellent. but rooms were shabby and disappointing. it felt like being in your grandmas house . i expected it to be more high end. it was just ok . shinn estate was much nicer for the same price .

Room Tip: the ones in th eback as the street is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The front of house staff are great,
particularly Mike. The rooms are pretty poor in quality of fit out for the price. Also it's on a busy road, so if you're European and don't like a/c then you're going to have a difficult night. The furniture in the rooms is cheap and the bed was falling apart. Tatty plastic shower / bath. The restaurant is clearly good and they're taking it very seriously but it's very much new York prices but with a menu that's a little less creative than you might hope for. That said the mushroom and sweet corn risotto is one of the loveliest things we've ever eaten.
All in all though, it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ate here in March just prior to LI restaurant week. Excellent service, wonderful location and venue although somewhat expensive. The menu is New American serving local fresh fair. It really is a welcome addition to the average new american restaurant on the east end. Had a wonderful meal in a wonderful location. Highly recommended for a special occasion. If you don't mind a more expensive dinner experience, go more often! They did have a food truck that served simple food at one time (think roadside food truck) which is such a nice idea. Just part of the overall NoFo experience. Do go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The North Fork Table is pricy, but the food is excellent. We have a about three restaurants we will gladly spend $200.00 on dinner and walk out feeling satisfied. This is one. Never disappointing, local ingredients make this restaurant a good choice for special occasions.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

wonderful place to stay in the heart of the north fork wine trail. so friendly, relaxing, and delicious. not a typical bed and breakfast where you feel like you are invading on someone's home. a very come and go as you please type of place. the breakfast was hearty and wonderful and as a bonus served buffet style. dinner at the table is one of the best meals you will have. the staff is friendly and attentive. i'll be back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The North Fork Table & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Fork Table & Inn

Address: 57225 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971-4704 (Formerly Coeur des Vignes L'Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The North Fork Table And Inn
The North Fork Table Hotel Southold
North Fork Table Hotel
North Fork Table Southold
The North Fork Table & Inn Southold, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The North Fork Table & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.