We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captive audience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southampton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southampton Inn to your Saves list
Southampton Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Hill Street, Southampton, NY 11968   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hampton Holiday BOGO
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Captive audience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pretty much the only game in town, so they don't have to go out of their way and they don't. The staff is extremely pleasant, but a little befuddled. Breakfast in the off-season consists of hot water or coffee (they don't seem to be able to manage both at once) and part of a danish (one danish cut in four on a regular size plate was the entire breakfast on offer). Noise is definitely an issue. Beware of getting a room too near the air-conditioning and heating unit since it roars all night. Not to be petty, but the noise between rooms and between floors is on the level of the cheapest no-tell motel. We had one quiet night and the next night was hell. Long and sort of it? They can charge this kind of money because they are in Southampton and hotels are non-existent. The internet was a joke. So slow that it was essentially useless if you had any work to do. Really no excuse for that. I would hope that during the season more would be on offer. The prices really are much too high for what you get during the off-season. The hotel itself, except for the noise and internet, wi slightly above average. Not much value for the money, however.

Room Tip: Don't stay on ground floor, facing the highway, or near the air-conditioning unit if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Denny, General Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do our best to insure a quiet night's stay to all with tempur- pedic mattresses and annual upgrades to the rooms. However, not all of our guests are as considerate of neighbors as we would hope. As for your breakfast comments, please know that we do not serve breakfast in the "off season" but provide complimentary coffee and tea, juice, and locally baked pastries to our guests. Yes, the apple tarts were cut...because the local baker prepared enormous squares for family style dining... and other guests complained that they were much too large for a quick bite in the morning! (You are welcome to take 2 or 3 if you prefer the larger amounts!) Please note also that the "best" breakfast (that we are known for) will be opening on weekends in May and then daily beginning May 23rd (for 2013). This year we have a swiss pastry chef preparing our croissants, danish, small quiche, fruit tarts in addition to the eggs, pancakes and french toast, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. We do hope that you will want to return and join us for the ala carte breakfast that is MUCH more elaborate than the pre-season coffee and muffins that we put out as a courtesy.

Over 65% of our guests return year after year and we strive to do everything we can to ensure a good stay. We will work on looking into why a headboard rattled... certainly not appropriate for 7-year-old guests next door!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    40
    29
    50
See reviews for
52
67
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff is mixed up. It is more of a motel than hotel. It is in walking distance of South Hampton town. With it the only game in town they can get away with the high rate. Breakfast they offer is a complete joke.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I came here recently on an off-season weekend in April. I was here once before during high-season two years ago.

The positives of this property are the fact that it is walking distance to town, which means you don't have to have a car while staying here, and if you do, you can avoid parking issues in town. The shuttle to the beach is invaluable, since parking is for permit-holders only. The shuttle only runs during peak summer months, however. The double queen room I stayed in was quite comfortable. I especially liked the bedding. I didn't have any problems with noise from other rooms or outside (as other reviewers mentioned), but I think that has to do with the fact that I wear earplugs while sleeping, and the inn was not full while I was there. I also stayed in a second floor room, so I didn't have to deal with any early morning or late night noise from above. The receptionist who checked me in was very pleasant. The garden is very pretty as is the library.

Some negatives included the lack of electrical outlets in the room. There were very few that were accessible. The WIFI was almost unusable. The price is high. I was surprised to pay the same amount of money for a room during off-season that I paid during high-season two years ago, but perhaps the prices have risen altogether since then. I still think that $200 (without tax) per night is quite a lot to pay during low-season, especially since the shuttle to the beach is not up and running yet, nor is the onsite restaurant, the pool is not yet open, etc. The cancellation policy is very strict, which could be understandable during the busiest months, but not during low-season. Finally, the check-in time of 4 p.m. is annoying.

I might stay here again, because the town is so nice and Cooper's Beach is so nice, but I might not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Denny, General Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate customer feedback and we are constantly taking steps to improve our property. We do enjoy a wonderful location and we remain the only full service resort in Southampton. Please come back and see us soon.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

great hotel... absolutely near everything down town.
they could have more for breakfast...
but they have the best beds imaginable and the rooms are spotless.
two queens size beds were an added atraction. and the room eaters were quite and working well

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Denny, General Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do receive many positive comments at our front desk about our Temper-Pedic* mattresses.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us soon.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really liked this hotel. We were very comfortable and traveling with 2 kids. The room was quite large and the kids slept on the pull out couch. The location is convenient to everything and we enjoyed our walk to dinner. We would definitely stay here again. Very clean, great friendly staff and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Denny, General Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The Southampton Inn is the only full service hotel in town
including a seasonal heated swimming pool,a tennis court and a beautiful ballroom So many of our guests do enjoy our location within walking distance of the town center and being only 1 mile from the beach.
Please come back and see us soon. Denny Pierce,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Southampton Inn is delightful in all seasons, always clean, comfortable, and enjoyable. the staff is extremely helpful and the location is perfect for walking around the town. Spent 4 nights there over Christmas and had a great night's sleep every night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Denny, General Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Being the only full service Inn in Southampton makes
us a great location for your next visit. Our Tempur-Pedic beds are very popular with our guests and so many comment on how well they sleep after staying with us. Please come back and see us soon. Denny Pierce,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you are looking to be woken up at 5:30 in the morning this is the place for you. It is clear that as there are very few places to stay this "INN" does not care about customer service or even being honest with it's clients. We were put in a room with two other rooms that had one door to the outside hall way. Everytime the door opened it literally shook the bed. The door opened 15 times between 5 & 6 am when the cable people were leaving (as the hotel knew they would be). When we discussed this with them they said that they never had a noise problem. We were moved to another room which there was one room above us, which was a family. At 6 am it sounded like a tumbling gym was in full force. Clearly the hotel is extremely poorly built, not at all suited for what it is. The manager instead of working hard to make sure there were suitable people in adjacent rooms said she knew nothing of a noise problem, and offered us free breakfast. As we were checking out another couple was asked if their new room was better with less noise!!!!
If this hotel was anywhere else it would be out of business.
The rooms are not bad with comfortable beds, but unfotunately you dont get much sleep in them.

I would recommend a near by bread and breakfast (not so great if you need more than one bed)or the hamlet inn where some of our family stayed and it was cheaper, sparse but clean and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonInn91, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We at the Southampton Inn regret you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you’ve found the other guest rooms to be noisy. It is our goal that every guest enjoys his or her stay. Our inn is historic therefore the rooms may not be as sound proofed as you are personally accustomed to. We encourage our guests to make us aware prior to check-in their personal needs such as being a light sleeper or sensitivity to noise so we may best accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Inn

Address: 91 Hill Street, Southampton, NY 11968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southampton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southampton Inn is a gracious 90 room hotel in the heart of Southampton Village. Set on 5 luciously landscaped acres and expansive lawns, we are only steps from some of the best shopping and restaurants in the Hamptons. During the summer season, we are proud to provide shuttle service to and from Coopers Beach, named the #1 Beach in America by Dr. Beach in 2010. Our kitchen is delighted to prepare delicious fare and present it to you in our own Oso restaurant, the Euro-esque courtyard or the patio adjoining our heated outdoor pool, from 7a.m. to 7p.m. 7 days a week in season. Best of all, our friendly and courteous staff is available 24 hours a day with all the Hampton's Inside Information to make your stay all the more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Southampton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Inn NY - Hamptons
Southampton Bed Breakfast
Southampton Inn Southampton
Southampton b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southampton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.