We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful And Caring Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southampton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southampton Inn to your Saves list
Southampton Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Hill Street, Southampton, NY 11968   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Specials
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Mount Vernon, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful And Caring Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Southampton Inn in the past and was always satisfied with the level of service. During my recent trip, however the staff, Nora, Kat and Luis, were exceptionally helpful; I had lost a towel which has overwhelming sentimental value and they had houskeeping conduct a search of the laundry to try and find it.
The towel was found and returned.
I highly recommend the Southampton Inn if you are thinking about a stay on Long Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonInn91, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for enjoying your recent stay and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers. On behalf of the front desk and our entire staff, we look foward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    40
    29
    53
See reviews for
55
70
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just got back from a sunday-monday stay at the Southampton Inn. Nothing wrong with this place (I was scared as I read some of the reviews after I booked). Clean rooms, comfortable beds, we were granted the request for 2 queens and not charged for the kids in the room. I did not find any bed bugs as some reviews mention and the place was clean. The beach shuttle is great plus it makes the whole experience very easy (they have towels, chairs and umbrellas).
Everything was as planned and I would easily return to this place.

The only hting I did not like is the TV is not HD and the hotel charged me $3 for coffee!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I read the reviews after I had booked this hotel. I only use this forum to write postive reviews as I am also a small business owner. But clearly there is a lack of management and leadership at this hotel. I had called days prior to notify them we would have a late check in due to our flight and wanted to make sure we secured our king room. Instead the evening person had a choice of two different queen rooms with no ability to change for our three day stay. Bear in mind they had taken
A full deposit for two nights at booking and the third night the day prior. There appeared to be no sense of pride in the surroundings of the inn. We observed wine glasses sitting out on rails for two days as well as bags of garbage. Towels had tears and holes that were in the bathroom. Staff appeared rumbled and disorganized.
Pluses are the beds are comfortable, pool and grounds are nice. Beach chairs, umbrellas, toys etc available for guests to use. Shuttle to coopers beach beats the $40 at the lot or walking two miles each way in the humidity. We didn't have a car so it was nice to walk in the village which was the next block. Would I stay again? The answer is no.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonInn91, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We are always concerned when guests do not enjoy their stays. But for readers of TripAdvisor, we want to emphasize that approximately 65% of our guests return year after year, that senior management has been with the company for many years, that our housekeeping and maintenance staff do an outstanding job of insuring immaculate guest rooms and public facilities. We reflect an unassuming, friendly relaxed environment for over 40,000 annual visitors. We take pride in the positive experiences from thousands of loyal guests and will try harder for the very few who report negative visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Knowing that hotel rooms are limited in the Hamptons, I planned early. I had business in the area and booked my room well in advance. On my day of arrival the Southampton Inn claimed they had no record of the reservation. I had a printed confirmation and confirmation number and they did not even care to see it. I was literally boarding the plane. I asked if they would do me the courtesy of making a few calls locally to help me find another room. They couldn't have cared less. I asked to speak with a manager and was told there was none available.

I missed the event I was scheduled to attend. A complete and total waste. When I returned to the office I had an email from the Southampton Inn(with my original confirmation number) asking me how I enjoyed my stay. They had no record of my reservation? Really?

Buyer, BEWARE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonInn91, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
It is unfortunate that you had an unplesant experience. However, for clarification, there is always a Mnager on duty or if it is late in the evening reachable by phone. The first thing we ask a guest for when they call to confirm a reservation is their name and or confirmation number, This is the only way to retrieve reservation information.

When we dod not have availability we reccomend other locations and we make calls daily to other hotels and B&B's so that we can recommend them, so to say that the staff would not help you find an alternate location seems unrealistic. Especially when it is a daily practice to determnine this information. That being said if you would like to speak to a manager please give us a call and we will be delighted to speak with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very disappointing stay here 10 days ago.
Place is weary and staff don't seem to have a clue what's going on much of the time. Seems like they try to make a killing in the summer months, overpriced and service with attitude.
In keeping with another post here further down-my wife also discovered nasty bites on her ankle and one wrist during our stay that fit the description of bed bugs.Called the hotel 2x to talk to the Manager and they seem never to be there or not available!

I am not surprised, given the general feel of the place. I surely won't be recommending!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonInn91, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Former Guest,

Management is always reachable at the Southampton Inn. There is always a manager on duty unless it is late in the evening but we can be reached by phone if needed. Let me asure you and your wife that the Southampton Inn does not have bed Bugs. We have tempurpedic mattresses which are also protected by sealed mattress covers which are know not to be breading grounds for bed bugs. Any complaints of htat nature are taken very seriously and delt with by professionals. The health and welfare of our guests is very important to us. Please feel free to call the Inn anytime to discuss your stay with a manager and we will be happy to speak with you.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The property is very large, plenty of places to roam and enjoy outdoor or indoor seating. Room was good size and bathroom very nice. Bed comfortable and linens nice quality. Servers very accommodating and worked hard. Front desk could be more professional in approaching guests. Convenient walk to town restaurants and shops. Nice free service to the beautiful beach. Free towels and $5 chair rental made the beach day a wonderful experience. Negative would be for price of the rooms for weekend stay....no guest amenities like free coffee in the morning. I need my coffee and every hotel in NYC and Europe offer their guests coffee (at minimum). Shocked that two styrofoam cups cost $6.35....was told free refills. Not an inviting way to welcome guests, Management of this property needs make guests feel more at home and spa like, A very expensive weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When we arrived they said they could not find our reservation. Then they found it and said it had inadvertly been cancelled; that they had tried to contact us (not). No recourse; no remorse. We got a room at the place next door and they said the Southampton Inn has been experiencing a lot of computer glitches this year and that this is not uncommon. We recommend you call them often to confirm you have a room. It's not fun arriving in the Hamptons late at night in the rain with no place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Inn

Address: 91 Hill Street, Southampton, NY 11968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southampton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southampton Inn is a gracious 90 room hotel in the heart of Southampton Village. Set on 5 luciously landscaped acres and expansive lawns, we are only steps from some of the best shopping and restaurants in the Hamptons. During the summer season, we are proud to provide shuttle service to and from Coopers Beach, named the #1 Beach in America by Dr. Beach in 2010. Our kitchen is delighted to prepare delicious fare and present it to you in our own Oso restaurant, the Euro-esque courtyard or the patio adjoining our heated outdoor pool, from 7a.m. to 7p.m. 7 days a week in season. Best of all, our friendly and courteous staff is available 24 hours a day with all the Hampton's Inside Information to make your stay all the more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southampton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Inn NY - Hamptons
Southampton Bed Breakfast
Southampton Inn Southampton
Southampton b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southampton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.