We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought it was a bakery!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Ambroeus

Sant Ambroeus
30 Main St, Ste A, Southampton, NY 11968-4856
631-283-1233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sant Ambroeus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wall Street
NYC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“I thought it was a bakery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the back half of this place. When you walk in, it looks like a bakery/gelato shop but it's so much more. The menu wasn't incredibly big but we made some excellent choices. We shared an eggplant appetizer but we had to ask for the mariana sauce on the side because apparently this eggplant didn't have any sauce in it. Good decision on our part. My veal was excellent and my date's steak was excellent. We were very satisfied. Of course we had to have dessert. He had tiramisu and I had some kind of chocolate mousse. Both were great (because those are both made on site...not all are). I'm glad we chose this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb, snobby but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The world's fanciest people frequent this Italian patisserie, gelateria, bar and restaurant in downtown Southampton, so the people watching alone is worth the price of whatever you buy. As the owner sizes you up for either a warm greeting or a dismissive scowl, you can enjoy some of the best pastry anywhere. Never mind the price, just go there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

you can get same italian food and better price somewhere else ,its very expensive but i guess people like to pay this amount money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Pricey, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had great service from Luis from Honduras. The seafood salad ($28) was fresh and tasty as was the scallop appetizer ($22). Veal loin stuffed with fontina and artichoke ($46) and the shrimp special ($43) were quite fresh and tasty. Pricey, but what isn't in Southampton! We'd stop at this restaurant again.

Oh! When you walk in the front door, you are welcomed with a huge case of all flavors of gelato! All of which looked yummy! We didn't try any as we were stuffed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quogue, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very expensive restaurant, but delicious food. I don't like the interior spaces in summer as it's too cloistered but their carpaccio is the best any where in the world

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sant Ambroeus also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Sant Ambroeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Ambroeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.