We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well composed, balanced and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Cafe

Plaza Cafe
61 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5316
631-283-9323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Plaza Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 67 restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First Neck Lane
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well composed, balanced and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A pleasant room, decent service and a well constructed menu with good variety. Inventive and interesting combinations that were complete and tasty. Select at least some sea food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    35
    9
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner during restaurant week in the Hamptons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Fantastic, all I really need to say. 3 courses with a wonderful menu. The food, service and ambience has always be lovely here, I didn't expect to be so pleased during restaurant week! For an apie I ordered the prosciutto wrapped shrimp...cooked perfectly with truffle oil. Entree was the sliced hanger steak also wonderfully prepared, and although not much of a potato lover, the roasted potatoes were the perfect accompaniment. After finishing everything on our plates my friends and myself dove into the included dessert. The apple/pecan cake was incredible. Yum.
This restaurant is pricy, but worth it. Everything about it is tops.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We always enjoy our visits the the Plaza Cafe. Sure, it's interior could use some updating and it's not in the most glamorous of locations behind the Southampton movie theater, but the food is the draw as is its friendly waitstaff.

We've often enjoyed the Seafood Shepard's Pie, but you have to have a good appetite or you won't be able to finish it. And they have a very unique piece of fish on the menu and they only ever buy a couple from their fishmonger and that is a swordfish cut like a frenched veal chop. It's as tasty as it is uniquely fashioned to look like a chop.

I would say that the Plaza Cafe is a venue that would appeal to adults out for a romantic evening or an evening with friends. It is not the place for children under 12. The menu doesn't really support their appetites for chicken nuggets and kiddie burgers/dogs. For adults, it's a treasure trove of culinary delights. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and rude service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were a party of 9 foodies and were shocked by how bad this place was in all aspects last night. The waitress was rude to everyone. Despite the "elegant" prices, we had to ask for bread, the wine list, water. Dirty silver ware was taken off the plates and placed on the table. Some of the dishes were interesting including lobster/shrimp shepherd's pie and the duck bread pudding but most were mediocre, certainly not worth the price. For the first time ever, we tipped only 10%. People who say this is a great place have never eaten in NYC.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a lovely dinner. The dishes were creative and well prepared. The room is lovely and a place you can relax and talk.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Cafe also viewed

 
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Plaza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.