We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southampton Long Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southampton Long Island Hotel to your Saves list
Southampton Long Island Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 County Rd 39, Southampton, NY 11968 (Formerly Southampton Escape Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Direct Booking
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked this "hotel" because the rating wasn't too bad on Booking.com / Tripadvisor.
The village of Southampton is an upmarket, picturesque, village with beautifully manicured lawns and hedges. Mansions line the leafy streets and lanes.
So I was not expecting that when we arrived we would find it to be more Motel than Hotel. The room we were given was right on the highway and the bedroom tiny. I expected much better accommodation for the amount the room cost (more like New York rates!). I have stayed in far better places for half the price in the USA. The pictures shown on the booking.com website do not look like the room we got.
There was a kitchenette of sorts - no handles on the drawers or cupboards so not functional.
No kettle, plastic cups supplied to drink from. 4 x mini shampoos in the bathroom - no soap!
I did ask to be moved but apparently they were full so could not offer an alternate room.
On the positive side - apart from feeling like the Bates Motel - the linen was clean and the were staff friendly (although unable to rectify the room problem).

Room Tip: If you get past reading the review and STILL want to book here - make a note that you DO NOT WANT ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
12
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just spent another memorable weekend in the Hamptons. And we found our favorite hotel for future getaways! It is spotless clean and must have been recently renowated with fraction of the cost of other hotels in Southampton. We loved the pool at night with lights and lots of privacy. Staff is great with plenty of tips for dining and activities in the area. I noticed the previous review with complaints and it seems like whoever wrote it must have had a terrible day or something....nothing seems to be true. I did see some rooms with the street view but they are definitely not on the street...some people exaggerate for no reason. Anyway we loved the place and by the way, photos are exactly what the rooms look like. We are coming back in September. Cant't wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonEscape, General Manager at Southampton Long Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for staying with us! Guests like you are always welcome here again and again. We appreciate all kind comments in your review and we hope you will enjoy your future stays with us more and more every time. Please contact us directly as we may be implementing special offers for our returning customers this season and we would not want you to miss any of them. See you soon in Southampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The name of the motel is The South Hampton Escape Hotel. And the name says it all because you will want to ESCAPE as soon as you pull in! First of all it is not a hotel but an old motel. You are required to pay half the room fee when you book the room and it is non refundable.Then when you show up, see the hotel and want to cancel (and you will) the establishment will have a stand-by list of people waiting for your room. They will keep your money and sell the room again. So you have no choice and have to stay because there are very few hotels in the area and everything else is sold out. We asked about any discounts AAA, etc. but they have none....although they did offer to take $15 off the bill if we would pay cash....hmmmm?

The photos of the motel look nice but are vastly deceptive. The motel is OLD and sits 25 feet off a busy highway (RT. 27 very noisy) and about 20ft.from a noisy late night restaurant which is lit up all night and shines through the broken blinds. We didn't feel safe because there were people walking around outside 5 feet from where we were trying to sleep (which we didn't). There are NO amenities....no phone or coffee in the room and the dirty coffee pot in the office looked like it hadn't been emptied or cleaned in a month. We are not fussy about accommodations but this one was so bad we tried to check out at 7:30am the next morning and couldn't because the office was closed. Even the help doesn't want to stay there. We had to wait for someone to show up to turn in our key. Which by the way was a major problem! It took both of us to lock the door to our room...one to turn the key and the other to yank on the knob to get the deadbolt to latch.. We had a two bedroom suite (HA HA) with no chairs in the bedrooms so we couldn't sit and visit with each other and the only other room was a kitchen with a door that opened onto the driveway so we had to check the traffic before we stepped out of our room.
Now on the plus side the hardwood floors are nice, the place reasonably clean and we had a frig and microwave, sink and cabinets but no utensils or napkins to really use anything. If I had to describe the feel of the hotel it is much like a log cabin....old and dark. It is several miles from town and is in a poor section with industrial buildings surrounding it. So beware. It's way overpriced and we wanted to ESCAPE as soon as we arrived!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the pool are the quietest. Refuse room A under all circumstances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonEscape, General Manager at Southampton Long Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations, however it seems like your review is not entirely fair. We do have 24/7 staff on duty - also within late night hours - we are just a phone call away and our location is very safe at any time of the day or night. You have not mentioned any of your concerns to us during your stay, therefore we did not have a chance to rectify any of it. We would have done our very best to make you happy, but you only wrote your negative thoughts here afterwards. Please address any issues before you leave in the future - you may resolve all your potential problems before they even happen this way. Thank you again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The Southampton Escape definitely ranks as the best place to stay in Southampton. Affordable, clean, and perfectly situated in Southampton, this place provides an amazing experience for anyone who loves the Hamptons. Within close proximity to the town of Southampton, which is home to many great stores and restaurants, and within close proximity to great beaches such as the number one rated Coopers Beach, I can definitely attest to the uniqueness and perfect Hampton experience that this place provides. I have stayed here for many years, and I truly believe this place is worthwhile and special. The friendly staff, which provides amenities that are very suitable to ones needs, and the whole atmosphere of the Southampton Escape, will surely make anyone's Hampton experience one that they will never forget! Moreover, it's perfect location provides opportunity for one to venture out to other parts of the hamptons, which is great for anyone planning a long stay. I highly recommend this place as ones choice of stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonEscape, General Manager at Southampton Long Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We can't wait to see you again! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. Guests like you give us even more motivation to do our best to make your vacation as memorable as possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not wanting to spend more than $300/night and unknowingly choosing to visit Southampton at the same time as the LPGA tournament, we booked a standard room at the Southampton Escape in late June. The staff were friendly and the room was clean but that's about all I can commend it for. This is an upgraded motel likely built in the 50s, right on a major road. It is relatively convenient by car, but if you take bikes, be aware that you will need to ride on a busy road with no shoulder for a minimum of 1/4 mile if you're heading into town. Our room was very small, with a noisy albeit very powerful a/c unit and an uncomfortable hard mattress. The humidity was so high and without a fan in the bathroom our towels and suits never dried out. The pool is nice but no one seemed to be around sweeping it out of bugs etc. Overall, not worth the price unfortunately.

Room Tip: try to get a room as far away from the main road, on the pool side, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 24 year anniversary and couldn't of been happier with the accommodations. Our accommodations had two bedrooms and a fireplace and a full size refrigerator and microwave and two couches. It was spotless clean and there was fresh coffee in the "lobby area". We asked about the beach weather and Marta advised us to go to Muscuitt beach due to being on bay side and won't be as windy as Cooper Beach and it was great...live music and a bar and all kinds of food ...calamari, burgars, dogs, fish and chips, chicken wings, etc. We liked the Southampton Escape so much our daughter is going to this weekend with her boyfriend. It is the best find in Southampton!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonEscape, General Manager at Southampton Long Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much! We would love to see you here again soon. I hope you can find some free time in the near future and visit us in Southampton. Apple picking season is almost here :-) Thank you again - we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Some people seem to have been here on a budget: we got to spend a 250 + 17%tax per night, minimum stay was 2 nights without possibility to cancel ( our daughter got sick the day before our stay, we had the choice between bringing her anyway or loosing a rough 550 dollars...). Anyway, this is a motel, it's not that bad but for 250 per night I'd frankly expect a bit more, like a breakfast or at least the possibility to brew yourself a cup of coffee in your room ( nope!). Also, spending this kind of money I'd like to get a bit more than 2 tiny bottles shampoo and a ridiculous little piece of soap ( for 3 hosts, 2 days??!!!! and what about conditionner, body lotion, make up pads ecc??). Don't think they'll see me again anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southampton Long Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Long Island Hotel

Address: 450 County Rd 39, Southampton, NY 11968 (Formerly Southampton Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southampton Long Island Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton Long Island Hotel - Conveniently located, only minutes from the world's famous Cooper's Beach and charming Village of Southampton with numerous restaurants, cafes and boutiques - it will be your favorite lodging choice in the Hamptons.Open all year long - it is perfect for the summer beach getaway with friends or loved ones, business retreat, unforgettable fall trip with your children for apple or pumpkin picking, relaxing tour of exceptional wineries or just for a well deserved relaxing weekend as a treat for yourself.Our hotel features: All Seasons Inn with daily, weekly and long term rentals available. All rooms feature private baths, air conditioning, cable TV. Wireless Internet. Outdoor swimming pool in the summer season. Convenient proximity to Luxury Liner, Hampton Jitney, LIRR train station and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southampton Long Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enclave Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Enclave Hotel Southampton
Southampton Long Island Hotel NY - Hamptons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southampton Long Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.