We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me appreciate MacDonald's” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 75 Main

75 Main
75 Main St., Southampton, NY 11968-4808
631 283-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
75 Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: CHASE BANK
Transit: There is a train station five minutes from our restaurant, as well as public transportation such as the Hampton Jitney and Hampton Luxury Line.
Description: 1. 75 Main Restaurant & Lounge75 Main Restaurant & Lounge is not just a place you go to eat a delicious Italian meal – it is also a Hampton hot-spot. On top of wonderful food, the venue is home to great music, dancing, nightlife and an overall top-notch experience. It is obviously no surprise that 75 Main is a celebrity attraction, catering to an array of big-name guests like Angelina Jolie, Tila Tequila and Leonardo DiCaprio.Food-wise, 75 Main also dominates The Hamptons. It is an Italian restaurant yet the menu is infused with cuisine from every corner. Menu highlights include Koast Littleneck Clams, Dried Fruit Roast Vegetables and the Pan Roast Alaskan Halibut. 75 Main also boats a fabulous
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Made me appreciate MacDonald's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

Seemed to be a good menu from the outside. The servers were disinterested, the food took a very long time to come and after a long wait 2 out of 6 entrees were wrong. No way I give this place a 2nd chance

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    24
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Have dined here several times this summer as well as previous years. Both breakfast and lunch/dinner menus offer a reasonable variety of choices to accommodate any dietary preference. The owner Zach is always there and greets you with a smile. They have indoor and outdoor seating. We always take advantage of the outdoor seating in the nicer weather. You will always find people with dogs at the outdoor tables and an occasional celebrity. The food is consistently good and the staff is attentive and freindly. They have a very well stocked bar.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A reliable restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Having eaten here many times over several years, I have yet to be disappointed in the food. I agree with reviewers who say the service can be unenthusiastic at times, but the food is always good and the location is great!

The menu has something for everyone, and the bartender is more than competent. It is a large restaurant, so the chances of getting seated quickly are good, except at the busiest of times.

It is above all, a great place for people watching! Although I think you have to be very early or very clever to get a table outside!

(Warning: long lines for the ladies' loo!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you want good food and service go elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I visit the Southampton area often and have dined in a number of restaurants but have never tried 75 Main. I was looking forward to the experience and was sadly disappointed.
It was a week night so there was no "scene" ; it was not crowded.
Our waitress was young and attractive but clearly not interested in our dining experience. Answers about the menu was curt and unresponsive, her responses, "Thats how we make it here" were for every question asked. The appetizer was made days earlier and kept in a very cold refrigerator, even the plate was cold. The dinner we chose was plopped in the microwave and not baked. The chef did not know how to prepare this dish obviously! When we told her about this again we got the response "That is how we make it here". We sent it back. The waitress asked if we wanted to order something else and we said no.. we decided since we were still hungry we would have desert and ordered one that was clearly from a frozen box plopped on a plate with whipped cream and powdered sugar. We were "given" two glasses of wine for our troubles at the end of our meal. This is not how this should have been handled at all.
We will not be back and this place needs to really look into these issues as I can not see how the "scene" would compensate for the poor service, very poor food and very high bill. Prices were to high for the quality of the food or service.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only for the "Scene", not the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Had a good meal here last year and the friends then visiting wanted to go here again.
On the whole disappointing. Premium prices and not premium food or service. If the young woman who hosted us cared whether we had a pleasant experience, she did not reveal it. She was young and attractive in her rather slinky white long dress, to be sure, and fit in with the "with-it" ambiance of the place. Our friends and we are obviously seniors, but at the same time can certainly afford the place. One of us noticed that she spoke with an eastern European accent. When asked where she was originally from her answer was not Rumania, Bulgaria, Hungary or wherever, but a more than brusque "Where do you think?" Plainly, she just was not into the quality of our experience, and had been chosen for the job based on her appearance, but not her personality or hosting skills.. We sat outside, on the sidewalk area, and it was a good thing, as a trip inside to the restroom was an immersion in noisy music and a sea of 20 and 30-somethings making the scene. I'm not an old crab, being part of the rock and roll generation, but this "noise" is not peasant for dining. The food was, in my view, adequate but not memorable. I had a steak, and it was a lot tougher that the price would correctly predict. the drinks were well made, and expensive, but hey, this is "The Hamptons," though most of the week-end folk do not partake of the stream of helicopters one sees flying to and fro over the beaches en route to or from Manhattan, but who drive out,or take the reportedly excellent Hamptons Jitney and are not the "who cares what it costs" folk one seeks on "Royal Pains." No problem with such folk, mind you, Capitalist that I am, but real people want a quality dinner, well-served and enjoyed. We did not get it.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 75 Main also viewed

 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to 75 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 75 Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.