We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southampton Publick House

Southampton Publick House
40 Bowden Sq, Southampton, NY 11968
631-283-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
edwards
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were at the bar and the wait staff was great!! The atmosphere was also very good. I would definitely recommend this place!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb Experience at the Southampton Publick House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I had a great dining experience at the Southampton Publick House. We sat in one of the medium-sized dining rooms with a tin ceiling. Even though there were other parties in the dining room, we still had enough privacy to converse and enjoy our dinner. We had the Tuesday 2-for-1 special, so my husband ordered the rib eye steak, and my fish and chips dinner was complimentary.

We enjoyed the following:
- tasty food with generous portions
- attentive servers
- good drinks

The following is an area of improvement:
- more variety regarding drinks other than beer

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food....great waiter Matt....great bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

had a drink out bar and then ate dinner outside...food very good. A fun place to hang out alone, couples with friends....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great burgers + bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Friendly servers were very knowledgeable of the house brewed beers on tap. Food was great and decently priced. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sympathetic crowd for England Match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our local during our 4 days stay in Southampton. Own brew beer was great (favourite was very strong Burton IPA), and they were great and sympathetic hosts for Englands defeat by Uruguay in the World Cup. It was also happy hour ! Only complaint (in common with many venues in US) was excessive A/C making it actually cold to sit inside !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southampton Publick House also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Southampton Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southampton Publick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.