We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food. No atmosphere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Driver's Seat

Driver's Seat
62 Jobs Ln, Southampton, NY 11968
(631) 283-6606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $0 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bland food. No atmosphere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stopped off for a quick lunch and were very disappointed with both the food and the atmosphere. We had 4 different dishes all of which were bland and unexciting. The service was efficient but the staff but cold.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    15
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always Consistant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our late lunch at this restaurant. I have gone to this restaurant for the past 25 years and everytime the food is very good.
The soup comes out steaming and homemade anf the salads are always fresh.
Get the chicken sandwhich and enjoy every bite as it melts in your mouth.
The restaurant is always crowded on weekends but during the week it is easy to get a table.
Service is a little slow but worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“used to be better.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

best part is the outside bar......has always been a staple.
has not been the same for years......
inside bar is cold and detached....the decor of the bar is not welcoming.......regulars have flown the coop......
gave the place another chance...will not be back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Was an old reliable once, now it's horrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant was an old reliable for a nice dinner out. I hadn't been there in a year or two and recently we went back for a dinner before a movie. I ordered the fettucine alfredo and my friend ordered the prime rib. My pasta portion was more like an appetizer portion, but fortunately they did not waste the food on me because the sauce was plastic-like and pretty gross. The cheese was like sawdust. My friend's prime rib was put on a grill and served with hashmarks on it, very well done and dried out. The salads were fine with bottled dressing. Shortly after we ate, we went to a movie and took turns going to the bathroom with upset stomachs. It is a shame this restaurant has gone downhill--the owners should call "Restaurant Impossible" for a makeover because they need something badly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not unlike so many others, it was sold, remodeled and candidly, it ain't what it used to be.
Prices are higher, staff is still attentive but the food just doesn't measure up.

I'd have to say they lost it, but it's not something that can't be fixed. Would love a reason to come back.

BTW, the remodel job was first rate & they should be applauded for that. Now, please fix the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driver's Seat also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Driver's Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driver's Seat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.