We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coast Grill
1109 Noyack Rd, Southampton, NY 11968-1459
631-283-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My son and I had dinner at the Coast Grill recently. Our table looked out on the boats in a marina which was very nice. The sunset was lovely. I liked that the ambiance had an old fashioned, quite casual feel as so much of the Hamptons has become so overly chic and airbrushed. We went on lobster night, however we did not order the lobster as we probably should have. Instead, we ordered the roast chicken and the seared tuna. Both were quite mediocre. We did, however enjoy the banana chocolate bread pudding which we shared for dessert. The service was very good. I just wish that we had enjoyed our food more as everything else about the restaurant was so nice. For what we paid, it just did not feel worth it. Sorry to say.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit out of the way but worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Bartenders are great, staff was professional. Food was well done and the views of the harbor at sunset make it a perfect setting. Try and get a table along the window if you can as the views are terrific.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't Miss their Wine & Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a very pleasant dinner last evening at the Coast Grille in Noyac. Wednesday is their “Wine & Dine” evening. Pleasant atmosphere, attentive waiter (Tom) and great food. Don’t miss it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

So worth it!! I usually go there once a month. The food is sooo good. Very constant, nice size portions. So far I tried there coca cola ribs- delicious, tender very flavorful. Crab cake is always very fresh, made from real crab meat without any extra fillers. Lentils are great there, and they come as a side with few dishes, I just love it:). Great drinks, and very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have eaten at Coast Grill many times. The food is always excellent, and that was again true on our last visit. However, the service was miserable. We were seated at nearly 8:30 for an 8 pm reservation. Didn't order until nearly 9 pm. They added extra tables to cram people in. If I wanted to eat in Coach class, I'd fly Delta. It was so crammed that the waiters couldn't get to our table. Plates were cleared only when the next dish arrived. Hostess (not the usual hostess) could've cared less.

This is typically one of our "go to" restaurants in the Hamptons, and we'll certainly give it another try, but we got a big yellow flag from our latest visit. Food a 5, Service a 1 (generous) = 3 overall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Grill also viewed

 
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Coast Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.