We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best that the Hamptons has to offer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Butler's Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Butler's Manor
Save
You added A Butler's Manor to your Saves list
244 North Main Street, Southampton, NY 11968   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Southampton B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best that the Hamptons has to offer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

My husband and I didn't know what to expect for our first visit to the Hamptons, and weren't sure what section would yield the best results (Southampton, Montauk, etc.). We found the Butler's Manor on this site, and thought it looked like a safe enough bet. Well, let me tell you - we couldn't have been more fortunate, or more pleased to have selected this B&B, and this particular area to stay in. The B&B has fantastic service, being owned and operated by a warm, friendly couple, excellent accomodations, and phenomenal home-made breakfasts served in their beautiful, peaceful garden. They competently and happily catered to our special dietary needs - both of us being vegetarian, and me being allergic to eggs. The B&B also has a pool in a gorgeous, private back area of the garden. I loved everything about this place, and would definitely return again. Plus, after driving through the other areas of the Hamptons, we found that Southampton was definitely the most beautiful, interesting section of the region. I highly recommend renting a bike and riding through the gorgeous neighborhood streets, to ogle the mansions, and then ride on the very long road that leads past the beachfront properties, where you can stop off at various public beaches.

  • Liked — It felt like a real home; very warm, and welcoming.
  • Disliked — I don't care for shared seating at meal time, because I feel uncomfortable making small-talk with strangers.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
182
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

From the moment you cross the threshold at A Butler's Manor you feel at home. The service given by Chris and Kim was second to none. The breakfasts were superb and certainly set you up for the day. The room we stayed in (Oak Knoll) was spacious and homely. The cookies and chocolates were also a really nice touch. If we visit The Hamptons again, we would definitely stay at A Butler's Manor.

Paul and Susan Hindle, Lancashire, England.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We are a family from the Netherlands with two teenagers and we do a lot of traveling. We've seen many places and hotels.
This summer we made a trip from NYC, to Old-Greenwich (CT), Chatham (Cape Cod; where we stayed at the Wequassett Resort), Southampton (Long Island) and at the end of the trip we stayed a few days in NYC.
In Southampton we stayed at a butler's manor, and what can I say... it was GREAT! Chris and Kim (the owners) have taken so good care of us, and did everything they could to satisfy all their guests. There are home made cookies in the room and there is turn-down service, and in the morning there is fresh coffee and tea outside your room. They brought us to the beach and picked us up again, so we didn't have to think of parking the car. (The beach is ranged as the 4th of the best beaches of the whole USA)
The house is wonderful: You'll feel at home right a way.
The breakfast is served either in the lovely garden, or in the dining-room and everything was delicious and freshly cooked. It all looked very well at the well-decorated plates: Chris walks every morning in the garden to pick some flowers or leaves to decorate the plates!
The garden is beautiful and the pool is very nice too.
We were sorry we had to leave to NYC. We stayed at the Plaza there, and of course we had a great time there, but we all loved a butler's manor the best!
If you ever plan a trip to the Hamptons: Stay at a butler's manor!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This sweet treasure is like nothing I've ever seen. The kindness and thought that Chris and Kim put into every detail of the accomadations and their service is truly remarkable. When you speak to one of them on the phone, it's as if you have known them for years. They have a unique way of making you feel special, yet not uncomfortable. If you are new to traveling to the Hamptons like my husband and I were, then this is the place to go because they will sit down with you and help you figure out the best sights to suit your time constraints. We would definitely go back if we were to return to Long Island.

  • Liked — Chris and Kim
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We recently stayed for 3 nights at A Butler's Manor, a bed and breakfast located in Southampton, N.Y. What a beautiful place to stay! The owners, Chris and Kim, made us feel welcome from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Chris was at our car immediately and insisted on carrying our bags to our room. Kim met us right at the front door and gave us a personal tour of their gorgeous home, filled with comfortable furnishings, books, and cozy nooks to relax in. We were blown away once we went outside into the beautiful, lush backyard, overflowing gardens, and pristine swimming pool. Kim had even made us fresh iced tea that was waiting for us at the pool.
Our room was Goose Creek. It was spacious, comfortable, elegantly furnished, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!! Freshly baked cookies were in our room to enjoy with our iced tea. We asked for beach and restaurant recommendations, as well as ideas for fun things to do, and Kim provided us with all that we asked for, including letting us know about a secluded (free!) beach that was absolutely gorgeous and so private and unpopulated. There was even a fully packed beach bag in our room with towels, sunblock, and a book to take with us. We spent much of our time on that beach after enjoying the incredible breakfasts made by Kim, each day better than the last. The muffins and scones she bakes are worth the trip alone. Each morning, a full gourmet breakfast is served at either the dining room table or outside (weather permitting) on the patio, surrounded by those beautiful gardens. The company was also great as well, as we met some wonderful people from another state and truly enjoyed sharing conversations over our delicious breakfast.
I would return to A Butler's Manor in a heartbeat. We didn't have to lift a finger the entire time we were there. Chris and Kim were the most incredible hosts and generously provided for our every wish and whim.

  • Liked — Service, food, location
  • Disliked — I loved it all, nothing to complain about at all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the butlers manor. It is a wonderful escape from the city life, the garden is amazing and both Kim and Chrs make you feel special during your stay. We have been staying at A Butlers Manor for the last few summers and even have given gift certificates to our friends and family because it is always a gift that people talk about for months. Can't wait until our next trip!

  • Liked — the pool and garden
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

I stayed at the Butler's Manor with my 17 year old daughter and it was amazing! We both loved hearing Chris's stories about his life (and reading about them). The house is lovely and very welcoming. We had breakfast outside on the patio, with freshly squeezed orange juice and excellent tea served in a teapot. The bedrooms are very cosy and there is a very good selection of books to read. Afternoon cookies (home made of course) were delicious. Chris and Kim's knowledge of the area is outstanding and they could not have been more helpful - even driving us to the Jitney with our laden suitcases. We cant wait to return, and now we want our very own butler.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Address: 244 North Main Street, Southampton, NY 11968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, your elegant 1860 Colonial "home in the Hamptons." A Butler's Manor takes its name from Christopher's profession. A proper British butler for over 20 years, Chris ran estates in both Europe and America before "retiring" to welcome guests to our luxurious bed and breakfast. The personal service that is the hallmark of his profession, along with Kim's attention to detail, will make your stay at A Butler's Manor an experience in hospitality you won't soon forget. Bring your swim suit as we have a great salt-water swimming pool in our English garden!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton
A Butler's Manor Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Butler's Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.