We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English perfection in American paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Butler's Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Butler's Manor
Save
You added A Butler's Manor to your Saves list
244 North Main Street, Southampton, NY 11968   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Southampton B&B and Inns
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“English perfection in American paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I generally don't care for bandwagons, but I have to jump on this one. I join the nearly unanimous praise for 'A Butler's Manor' in the heart of elegant Southampton. The Allens are your hosts. Kim is a California girl, with all the radiance and natural charm of a Beach Boys' song. Chris is a former gentleman's gentleman, hence the name. He is warm, friendly, and always helpful. You will share their home, as treasured guests. The rooms have the warmth and elegance of an English country manor, with all the conveniences of a fine American hotel -- upscale toiletries, a welcoming carafe of sherry, afternoon tea just outside your door, flat screen TV, climate control, CD player (complete with a collection of jazz CD's), even a small desk in the guests' hallway with things you may have forgotten -- a bandaid, Off, Aleve.
The Allens have thought of everything to make your weekend, or week, perfect. A guest's packet includes local attractions, maps, lists of thing to do. A path through the absolutely perfect English garden in back of the manor, with bubbling fountain and luxuriant flora, leads to a beautiful pool with lots of chaise longues. Chris will be happy to run you over to Coopers' Beach (one of the world's most beautiful) at any time in his massive Buick Roadmaster woody station wagon, and pick you up in minutes at the touch of your cellphone.
Hot coffee is waiting outside your room at seven, and breakfast is served at nine (come later if you've slept in -- it's not your fault that the room is perfectly quiet and serene, the linens are sumptuous, and the mattress full and cushy). I won't go on about breakfast -- the other reviewers have covered it nicely. Suffice it to say that Kim is a superb baker, and well, breakfast in an English garden?
You can stroll into Southampton village from the manor, and enjoy lunch and shopping with the celebrities.
If purse strings are a concern, save this one for a special occasion. But believe me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
182
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for a little Southampton Girls Getaway. This place had excellent reviews so I booked us for 2 nights. What a wonderful place! Chris and Kim were such incredible hosts and made us feel right at home - in fact, when we pulled up to the house, Chris greeted us by name and had been looking forward to our arrival! The whole house was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The sound of the trees in the breeze was a slice of heaven to fall asleep to. In the morning, we had breakfast on the patio in their gorgeous garden. Did not get to use their POOL because we wanted to explore the beaches but I plan on using it next time. Chris and Kim offered drops offs/pick ups at the beach so we didn't have to pay for parking. So cute! My mom and I cannot wait to return here. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a great B&B in the Hamps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I recently experienced five nights of complete relaxation, unique gourmet breakfasts, lush English gardens and a wonderful pool at the Butler’s Manor Bed and Breakfast in the village Southampton, Long Island.
The Butler’s Manor exceeded all of our expectations for outstanding service and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Our daily routines included a morning walk through the village, an afternoon shuttle to Cooper’s Beach and a recommendation to one of the incredible area restaurants from Chris and Kim, our hosts.
We are looking forward to future visits to the Butler’s Manor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

All the positive reviews below are fully justified and correct - the Butler's Manor is a true gem. No need to repeat them all, just a few of our highlights....

The pool area is stunning, set in Chris' magnificent garden. We were lucky with great weather and spent each afternoon by the pool relaxing. I would say this sets it apart from most properties in the area by itself.

Chris & Kim's personal touches like freshly baked cookies in the room, iced tea / water served to you at the pool in the afternoon, offers of a ride to the beach to save the $40 parking fee, restaurant recommendations at places they like to eat.....the list goes on. The bedrooms are 5* hotel quality.....these touches you just don't get at a hotel and enhanced the experience.

Also it was our honeymoon and Kim remembered this from an email exchange months earlier. I'd forgotten we even mentioned it - the champagne in the room and flowers was a lovely touch.

Great all round really.

Practical points - it isn't cheap but this is The Hamptons and there are many other places a lot more pricey, we felt it was well worth the expense. It is a good 10 / 15 min walk into the town centre if that is an issue for people. That's about it.

Overall, we loved it, thanks Chris & Kim.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our first visit to A Butler's Manor. Our children had stayed her last year, highly recommended it and gave us our stay as a gift . This B&B is top drawer and the proprietors Kim and Chris are absolutely outstanding. We arrived as guests and left feeling like family. The house and its history, and the well landscaped grounds are wonderful and give you the feeling of having traveled far away without going far.The food, rooms, service and attention to detail are all excellent. The proximity to the Village of Southampton and surrounding areas made this the perfect place for some rest and relaxation while affording us a great opportunity to explore the Village and all that the area has to offer. We both enjoy walking and most of our destinations on the weekend were within approximately one mile of the B&B. With a little guidance from Kim and Chris, and their excellent suggestions and recommendations, we were able to find all destinations without a problem, and enjoy some excellent dinners in the Village. The informal atmosphere gave us a wonderful opportunity to get to know our fellow guests. There is an excellent selection of rooms to meet all requirements and preferences. We have already highly recommended A Butler's Manor to family, friends and business associates and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night to attend a wedding. I had found the B&B via tripadvisor but was not setting my expectations too high. However, the pictures do not do the venue justice. It is very pretty and caters for everything you need for a short break. Chris and his wife are seasoned professionals and know exactly what makes a break special. Small touches like having wine glasses available in the lounge and free sherry in the rooms, coffee and tea outside your room in the morning; all add to making our stay a delight. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay Cove, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was my first trip out to the Butler's Manor. I loved it. Professional service, delicious breadfast, and very charming property.
The level of sophistication and lifestyle was what impressed me. Everything top shelf. I also meet very interesting guests, from all over the world.
Great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Address: 244 North Main Street, Southampton, NY 11968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, your elegant 1860 Colonial "home in the Hamptons." A Butler's Manor takes its name from Christopher's profession. A proper British butler for over 20 years, Chris ran estates in both Europe and America before "retiring" to welcome guests to our luxurious bed and breakfast. The personal service that is the hallmark of his profession, along with Kim's attention to detail, will make your stay at A Butler's Manor an experience in hospitality you won't soon forget. Bring your swim suit as we have a great salt-water swimming pool in our English garden!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton
A Butler's Manor Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Butler's Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.