We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Experience at Silver's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver's Famous Restaurant

Silver's Famous Restaurant
15 Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-4808
631-283-6443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Experience at Silver's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I chose Silver's Famous Restaurant for lunch based on its popularity, location, and decor. The restaurant is charming with its brass chandeliers, watercolor paintings on pale lemon-colored walls, antique cash register, and black and white checkerboard floor. We managed to get a window seat and watched Village shoppers while we ate. My husband had the lobster bisque, and I ordered 2 crab cakes over a green salad with tomatoes. Though pricey and average in portion, the food was tasty and satisfying.

We enjoyed the following:
- Central location in The Village
- Charming decor
- Tasty food (We enjoyed the French bread with olive oil, garlic, and sea salt as well as our lunch orders.)
- Attentive servers

We considered the following to be areas of improvement:
- Web site (Its language appears to overexaggerate regarding items being "decently priced" and portions being "lavish.")
- Pricey menu (Most lunch items were priced between $20-50.)
- Lunch as the only meal served
- Narrow seating area

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“traditional, yet remarkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have had my share of blts in my time, but their's is remarkable. My wife had the lobster bisque which actually had visible lobster in it. Both of these dishes made a fine lunch. And as an aside, the bread in olive oil and herbs -- scrumptious. We got there slightly before noon and the service was excellent, as well as the attention to the comfort of the guests by some of the other employees. Not cheap, but very enjoyable -- as was said by someone else, you get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came in for lunch, which was average. Silvers offers a Lovely bistro type setting, good service, average food at exorbitant prices, which is sad. Sorta recommend, be aware very pricey.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Silver's is a Southampton institution, always crowded, ambiance of a delicatessen cum diner but so what the food is exceptionally good, nearing sensational. Depending on the moment service varies from great to downright ugh.

The adage of you get what you pay for is true here, although you pay a lot. The lobster roll ($44) is to die for. Our friends highly recommend the BLT ($22) and so on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Sense of Stability in a Seasonal Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Always a solid choice, Silver's doesn't disappoint. We've been going there for years and the food quality is always consistent. The staff is attentive and friendly, and the proprietor always seems to drop by our table to say hello. The menu is small and doesn't change much, but it's always done wonderfully.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver's Famous Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Silver's Famous Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver's Famous Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.