We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!? A motel room in a mini-non club” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Capri to your Saves list
The Capri
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   281 County Road, 39A Route 27, Southampton, NY 11968   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting!? A motel room in a mini-non club”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If it wasn't so different and upbeat, I would not have liked it. All day music from pool and Nobu bar (club is no longer there) which is steps from all rooms ends at midnight-1am. Rooms so basic (i.e. no tv), but my guest and I enjoyed it. Staff were young and nice. Not in center of town, but only a 5 minute ride to Cooper Beach and 15-20 minute ride to East Hampton and Bridgehampton restaurants. Music, price and lack of room amenities were kind of annoying, but it was also kind of fun at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    4
    6
    15
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

experienced travelers and while we did not expect 5 star service for over $600/night we expected some semblance of courtesy..

in a nutshell this is the worst of the Hamptons.. a lot of attitude with not much to back it up...it seemed as if the staff wanted so badly to be considered part of the Hamptons scene that they forgot they were part of the service industry... which just makes the hotel very amateur.

we planned a weekend but left after 1 night and day...

hotel service and attitude was simply terrible. the manager was drinking with the patrons, the front desk servant could not answer any questions, and the pool waitress acted like she was too good for her job (i.e. no smile, no initiative, and not timely at all)...not very service oriented (you knew you were hired as a waitress, right??)

nightlife was crowded and loud (it is a party spot) which was expected... typical Hamptons crowd-- women looking to be noticed and men peacocking around... very good for people watching and observing mating competition at its best (in a lowly jersey shore kind of way).

Black Mold in the bathroom.

one bright spot was Nobu of course, service was good as well as food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

For the price we paid, the service was terrible and we did not get good value. While the rooms were cute, the walls were very thin and it was extremely noisy at night. The bathrooms were small and dingy with nowhere to put toiletries. Overall, one of the worst hotel experiences we've ever had. We wrote a letter to the management and they never responded!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

As per the two previous reviews, we were guests for the last weekend of the season. Nobu was closed, breakfast offered was dismal, and the staff unhelpful and uninterested in being there. We were given a free bottle of wine daily to make up for the fact that the hotel was operating as if it were closed, but I would have preferred that they just didn't accept guests if they weren't willing to operate fully. We didn't mind the minimal nature of the rooms - no TV is fine with us, but don't use minimalist style to cover up the basics - the room wasn't too clean, the towels old and stringy, the flower in a vase next to our bed was dead. Maybe it's different when the place is running a full service, but it definitely wasn't worth the price for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This place was terrible and the pictures on the Web were beyond misleading… Nobu was closed, the Cynthia Rowley store was closed and the Hotel personnel were not helpful, had no maps or information on local restaurants and were clearly unenthused to be there… we were told we wouldn't need reservations at local restaurants which was completely wrong. The Hotel itself was run down, there were not curtains in the room-only window shades that let light in. The toilet seat was broken, the bathroom looked like the bathroom from "Psycho", doornob wouldn't lock and there was no place on premise to get food, drink or snack. Over-rated is an understatement.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hugely disappointed by this motel. it was held out to us on booking that there was a restaurant - not so. Even worse no breakfast, coffee or tea to speak of. Rooms incredibly basic with no radio or tv; only 4 hairdyers in whole hotel. Towels not replaced on a daily basis either are soap or shampoo - all in all beyond basic. Loo beside pool was a health hazard was so filthy, no drinks around pool, dirty towels. Only good thing is location - near jitney and we walked into town. Hotel management a joke, as was cleanliness.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We paid full price for a double room in this hotel. When we arrived we found a wilderness...no restaurant, no service, no drinks. Our room was pleasant but only 5 coathangers. There were 4 hairdryers for the entire hotel..on our second night (sans tv, sans radio), we were offered free wine by the pool. We had had no breakfast./coffee or juice. Day 2 no juice but coffee, day 3 nothing, day 4 coffee. Really pretty terrible for the price. the hotel had told none of the guests that the restaurant was closed so we were all disappointed. long walk into town and accomodation v basic. All in all - avoid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Address: 281 County Road, 39A Route 27, Southampton, NY 11968
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Southampton, NY - Hamptons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.